Tauchen mit French Angelfish

Caye Caulker – 

Um 08:30 gehts los. Sachen packen, bei Brisas del Mar frühstücken (leckere fried Jacks) und zu French Angelfish. Wir sind zu 6t. Juan, unser Kapitän, Dan, der Instructor, Pete aus Aspin macht seinen AOWD, Caroline aus Washington DC. , Verena und ich. Wir halten Ausschau nach einer Gruppe Delphinen und haben Glück. Tauchen mit Delphinen. Sehr cool . Am Riff entlang folgen uns sehr viele Nurse Sharks während wir in kleine Riffbuchten tauchen. Kurze Pause zum Schwimmen am Riff. Wir sehen einige Kanus mit Leuten, welche schnorcheln wollen und mit Harpunen – ob das Kates und Bens Gruppe ist? Beim 2ten Tauchgang sehen wir recht früh 2 neugierige Muränen. Ich hab mir nen Selfie-stick zugelegt, damit ich mit der Kamera sehr nah rankann, aber die Muränen sind eher neugierig. Einige Schwärme von Mondfischen, einige Parrotfish, ein großer Angelfish und Hummer sind auch dabei. Irgendwie bekomme ich Hunger.

Belize Caye Caulker Nurseshark Shark Scuba Diving Backpacker Backpacking Travel Belize Caye Caulker Scuba Diving Dolphins Backpacker Backpacking Travel Belize Caye Caulker Scuba Diving Backpacker Backpacking Travel 2

Wir machen eine Pause bei San Pedro. Die Preise hier sind extrem gesalzen. Neben dem  Steg im Wasser nehmen 2 Fischer Fische aus. Von oben herab holen sich Möwen die Reste, von unten schwimmen 2 Stingrays und haben ihr Mittagessen. Wir entscheiden uns einfach was zu trinken und setzen uns an die Sportsbar am Steg. Lernen uns gegenseitig bissel besser kennen. Smalltalk. Kurz darauf erscheint Hector, ein recht merkwürdiger, alter Kauz und stellt uns merkwürdige Rätsel. Er mischt eine Flasche „Heaven Juice“ (Regenwasser) mit einer halben Flasche rum. „Hält nen halben Tag“. Irgendwann muss ich mal, und treffe Pete beim rauskommen „Man, freakin Hector is sure a number“ – irgendwie komisch ist er schon. Zurück, zahlen wir und gehen. Hector scheint über seine Exfrau geredet zu haben und hat angefangen zu weinen als Pete und ich weg waren. Alles auch nicht immer rosig in der Karibik.

Belize Caye Caulker Sunset Boat Backpacker Backpacking Travel Belize Caye Caulker Dolphins Scuba Diving Backpacker Backpacking Travel Belize Caye Caulker Scuba Diving Backpacker Backpacking Travel
Belize Caye Caulker Scuba Diving Green Moray Eel Backpacker Backpacking Travel Belize Caye Caulker Sunset Pirate Cementerey Backpacker Backpacking Travel Belize Caye Caulker Lobster Backpacker Backpacking Travel

Wir fahren zurück zum Riff und schauen nach Manatees Ausschau. Kein Glück. Irgendwie macht der karibische-jamaikanische Akzent es schwer, die Leute zu verstehen. Unterwegs sehen wir Carlos Boot mit einer Gruppe, die auch nach Manatees Ausschau hält. „Got anything?“ „I got rum!“. Die hatten also auch kein Glück. Der Kuknat Rum hat aber lecker geschmeckt… vielleicht nehmen wir welchen mit. Zurück in Caye Caulker geben wir unsere Wäsche zum Waschen ab, tragen uns für Blue Hole Diving am 25ten ein und essen bei Brisas del Mar Abendessen. Hummer, nen Drink und Nachos als Appetizer. Langsam gewöhn ich mich an Fisch. Wir trinken noch einen Drink in der Calle del Sol. Ich fühl mich ziemlich fertig. Morgen wollen wir nen relaxten Tag machen.. aber auch den Sonnenaufgang anschauen.

One Response

  1. Mario

Leave a Reply

Tauchen mit French Angelfish

von Mario Lesedauer: 2 min
1

Scuba Diving with French Angelfish

Caye Caulker – 

We start at 08:30 – pack our things, have breakfast at Brisas del Mar (some awesome  fried jacks) and move along to French Angelfish. We are 6 people in total. Juan, our captain, Dan, the instructor, Pete from Aspin about to do his AOWD, Caroline from Washington DC. , Verena and me. We are on the lookout for some dolphins and… we are lucky. Diving with dolphins? Very cool . Later, we are followed by some nurse sharks along the reef and have a short break afterwards to take a swim and relax. We see some canoes with people who are snorkeling with harpoons – I wonder if this is Kate’s and Ben’s group. On our 2nd scuba dive, we soon see 2 curious morays. I got myself a selfie stick, so I can get really up close with my camera, but the morays are rather curious. A few schools of moon fish, a parrot fish, some big angelfish and lobsters are there too. Somehow I’m getting hungry.

Belize Caye Caulker Nurseshark Shark Scuba Diving Backpacker Backpacking Travel Belize Caye Caulker Scuba Diving Dolphins Backpacker Backpacking Travel Belize Caye Caulker Scuba Diving Backpacker Backpacking Travel 2

We take a break at San Pedro. The prices are rather spicy here. Beside the pier, 2 fishermen are gutting some fish. The seagulls above get the scraps, from below 2 stingrays are getting their lunch. We decide to just have some drinks and sit down at the sports bar on the pier. Get to know each other and so on. Smalltalk. A few moments later Hector arrives, a rather strange old fellow, and asks us some bizarre riddles. He mixes a bottle of “heaven juice” (rainwater) with half a bottle of rum. “This lasts half a day”. At some point I have to go to the loo and meet Pete on my way back  “Man, freakin Hector is sure a number“ – well, he sure is strange. Being back, we pay and are on our way. Hector seems to have talked about his ex-wife and started to cry as soon as Pete and I were away. It’s not always just roses in the caribbean.

Belize Caye Caulker Sunset Boat Backpacker Backpacking Travel Belize Caye Caulker Dolphins Scuba Diving Backpacker Backpacking Travel Belize Caye Caulker Scuba Diving Backpacker Backpacking Travel
Belize Caye Caulker Scuba Diving Green Moray Eel Backpacker Backpacking Travel Belize Caye Caulker Sunset Pirate Cementerey Backpacker Backpacking Travel Belize Caye Caulker Lobster Backpacker Backpacking Travel

We go back to the bay and keep an eye out for manatees. No luck. Somehow the caribbean-jamaican accent makes it hard to understand people. Along the way we see Carlos boat, with a group also looking for manatees. “Got anything?”“I got rum!”. They hadn’t had any luck either. But the Kuknat Rum was delicious, maybe I will take some with me. Back in Caye Caulker, we drop off our clothes at the laundry service, put our names up for Blue Hole Diving on the 25th and eat dinner at Brisas del Mar. Lobster, a drink and some nachos as an appetizer. I am slowly getting used to fish. We have just one more drink at Calle del Sol. I feel really exhausted. Tomorrow we want to have a relaxed day… but also want to watch the sunrise.

One Response

  1. Mario

Leave a Reply

Scuba Diving with French Angelfish

by Mario time to read: 2 min
1