Schnorcheln in Caye Caulker

Caye Caulker – 

Die Mücken hier sind klein, aber gemein. Das Stechen tut ja tatsächlich weh. Wobei… eigentlich sind das Sandfliegen.. Die vielen Katzen bei „Pause“ sind früh unterwegs auf der Pirsch. Wir frühstücken bei „Brisas del Mar“: Lecker Omelette mit Bacon. Dazu nen Frappucino mit Vanilleeis. Wir checken bei Pause aus (leider war es für die nächsten Tage ausgebucht), packen und laufen zu Tropical Paradise. Ganz cool dort, auch direkt am Meer mit einem Steg (Pause = Sonnenuntergang. Tropical Paradise = Sonnenaufgang ). Der Friedhof ist direkt daneben… zugewuchert und mit den vielen Palmen erinnert er an einen Piratenfriedhof.

Wir laufen ein wenig in der Stadt rum und schauen nach Schnorchel- und Tauchmöglichkeiten. Blue Hole machen wir noch nicht, buchen aber für morgen 2 Tauchgänge bei „French Angelfish“ und gehen heute schnorcheln. Auf dem Weg zum Norden der Insel lassen wir uns ne Kokosnuss öffnen und setzen uns auf ein Boot im Schatten. Lecker – und süßlich-fruchtig. Der Rastaman, der die Nüsse verkauft, hat auch ein Nebengeschäft, was magische Kräuter angeht. No Ganja aber für mich. Wir treffen auch Ben oben an einer Strandbar. Morgen geht er mit Kate zum Speerfischen. Klingt auch ganz cool.

Belize Caye Caulker Sunset Backpacker Backpacking Travel
Belize Caye Caulker Scuba Snorkel Yellowtail Damselfish Backpacker Backpacking Travel
Belize Caye Caulker Scuba Snorkel Nurseshark Shark Backpacker Backpacking Travel
Belize Caye Caulker Snorkel Stingray Backpacker Backpacking Travel
Belize Caye Caulker Split Backpacker Backpacking Travel
Bild ist nicht verfügbar
Belize Caye Caulker Sunrise Backpacker Backpacking Travel
Belize Caye Caulker Beach Backpacker Backpacking Travel 2
Belize Caye Caulker Split Bikes Backpacker Backpacking Travel
Belize Caye Caulker Pause Hut Backpacker Backpacking Travel
Belize Caye Caulker Street Backpacker Backpacking Travel
ArrowArrow
ArrowArrow
Slider

Um 2 gehts los bei uns mit Schnorcheln mit Carlos. 65 BZD (32.54 USD). Mit dem Boot raus aufs Riff. Sehr relaxed und man sieht extrem viel am Riff. Beim 2ten Stopp tummeln sich schon viele Stingrays und Nurse Sharks. Vor den Stingrays hab ich Respekt, obwohl man die auf der Bauchseite problemlos knuddeln könnte. Leider können wir keine Manatees sehen. Morgen vielleicht beim Tauchen mit French Angelfish. Dafür gibts frische Früchte und Cocosrum (Kuknat Rum, sehr sehr lecker). Recht fertig kommen wir wieder bei Tropical Paradise an. Duschen… und plötzlich ist es dunkel. Hier wird es schnell Nacht.

Wir essen bei „Roses“. Baraccuda Kebob. Wusste nicht, dass man die essen kann. Kleingedruckt steht auf der Karte 12% tax Aufschlag. Wenig später ruft uns einer der Gäste beim Verlassen, dass wir aufpassen sollen, weil die hier tax (naja, eher Service selber) aufschlagen. Not cool, aber der Baraccuda schmeckt. Trinkgeld gibts diesmal dafür aber nicht. Auf dem Rückweg kaufen wir uns noch Eis und setzen uns auf unseren Privatsteg. Irgendwie merkwürdig. Wir wachen früh auf und gehen sehr früh ins Bett… sind generell schon um 21 Uhr total müde.

10 Comments

  1. Mario
    • Mario
    • Mario
  2. Mario
  3. Mario
  4. Mario
    • Mario

Leave a Reply

Schnorcheln in Caye Caulker

von Mario Lesedauer: 2 min
10

Snorkeling in Caye Caulker

Caye Caulker – 

The Mosquitos here may be small… but really mean and their sting hurts a lot. Although… those are actually sand flies, I think. At “Pause”, our accommodation, the cats are quite early on their paws and hunt for some small crabs. We have breakfast at “Brisas del Mar”: Delicious omelettes with bacon. Add a frappucino with vanilla ice cream to that. We check-out at Pause (unfortunately It’s been booked out for a few days), pack our things and go to “Tropical Paradise”. It’s a cool place, right next to the beach too, with a pier (Pause = sunset. Tropical Paradise = sunrise). The cemetery next door is completely overgrown and with all its palm trees it just looks like a pirate’s cemetery.

We wander through the city for a bit and look for snorkeling and diving opportunities. We don’t do Blue Hole yet, but book 2 dive trips at “French Angelfish” and go snorkeling for today. We get ourself a coconut on our way to the north of the island and sit down on a boat with plenty of shadow. Delicious – and fruity. The Rastaman who sold the coconuts, has a little side business that deals with magical herbs. Thanks, but no Ganja for me it’s. We meet Ben in the beach bar. He’ll go spearfishing with Kate tomorrow. That kinda sounds cool too.

Belize Caye Caulker Sunset Backpacker Backpacking Travel
Belize Caye Caulker Scuba Snorkel Yellowtail Damselfish Backpacker Backpacking Travel
Belize Caye Caulker Scuba Snorkel Nurseshark Shark Backpacker Backpacking Travel
Belize Caye Caulker Snorkel Stingray Backpacker Backpacking Travel
Belize Caye Caulker Split Backpacker Backpacking Travel
Bild ist nicht verfügbar
Belize Caye Caulker Sunrise Backpacker Backpacking Travel
Belize Caye Caulker Beach Backpacker Backpacking Travel 2
Belize Caye Caulker Split Bikes Backpacker Backpacking Travel
Belize Caye Caulker Pause Hut Backpacker Backpacking Travel
Belize Caye Caulker Street Backpacker Backpacking Travel
ArrowArrow
ArrowArrow
Slider

At 2 o’clock we go snorkeling with Carlos. 65 BZD (32.54 USD). We head with the boat out to the reef. Very relaxing and you see a lot of the reef. On our 2nd stop there are already a lot of stingrays and nurse sharks. I have some respect for the stingrays, although you could probably cuddle them on their stomach side without any problems. Unfortunately we didn’t manage to see any Manatees – Maybe tomorrow during our scuba dive with French Angelfish. We have fresh fruit and coconut rum as compensation (Kuknat Rum, very very delicious).  We are very exhausted when we arrive at Tropical Paradise. A quick shower and it is already dark outside.

We eat at “Roses”. Barracuda Kebab. Didn’t know that you could actually eat those. The fine print on the menu says “12% Tax added”. A little later one of the guest shouts at us while leaving, that we should watch out, because they automatically add the tax here (well, more like service fee). Not cool, but barracuda is tasty, but… no tip this time. On our way back we get some ice cream and sit down on our private pier. Feels strange for some reason. We get up early and go to bed very early aswell. At 22 o’clock we are already totally spent.

10 Comments

  1. Mario
    • Mario
    • Mario
  2. Mario
  3. Mario
  4. Mario
  5. Mario
  6. Mario
    • Mario

Leave a Reply

Snorkeling in Caye Caulker

by Mario time to read: 2 min
10