Von Belize nach Guatemala

Caye Caulker – 

Sachen packen und noch 2 Cinnamon Rolls vom Starbucks holen. Mit Zitronenfrosting. Hammerlecker. Den ersten esse ich schon am Steg. Goodbye Caye Caulker. Die Überfahrt ist recht ruhig, bis auf eine 2-jährige, die die Geduld ihrer Mama testet. Mama hauen? Tztztz .

Belize Caye Caulker Pirate Cemetery Backpacker Backpacking TravelBelize Caye Caulker Sunrise Beach Backpacker Backpacking Travel

 Belize City – 

Belize Caye Caulker Beach Backpacker Backpacking TravelDer Hafen sieht ziemlich in Ordnung aus… ich weiß echt nicht, warum Leute meinen, Belize City sei hässlich. Mein BZD-Kleingeld wird in Kaugummi investiert. Als wir auf den Bus warten, treffen wir Ben wieder, der will auch nach Flores, aber danach nach Nicaragua weiter. Sind ne Gruppe von so 10 Leuten. Ich hab mich ja über die Mücken auf Caye Caulker beschwert, aber eins der Mädels hat Stiche wie Sommersprossen an den Beinen.. Outch.
Ab gehts nach Guatemala.

Grenze nach Guatemala – 

Belize City Caye Caulker Guatemala Flores Border Backpacker Backpacking TravelWir tauschen unsere restlichen Belizian Dollar (BZD) in Guatemalische Quetzal (GTQ) um und behalten je 37,50 BZD (18.77 USD) für die Ausreise. Der Fahrer im Bus hatte vor der Abfahrt noch gemeint, dass man darauf achten soll, den Einreisestempel zu bekommen. Ich weiß auch warum: Die Beamten in der Einreise sind recht fix. Zollformular wurde bei Verena fast vergessen, und bei mir auch einfach auf nen großen Stapel geworfen. Und recht viele Leute laufen einfach am Immigration Büro vorbei zum Bus. Für einen „Nonstop-Bus“ halten wir nun recht oft an, Leute abholen und mitnehmen oder Snacks für unterwegs. Auch gut – gibt halt Pipipausen.

Flores – 

Route Belize Caye Caulker Guatemala Flores Backpacker Backpacking TravelDer große Bus wird gegen 2 kleine getauscht, der Bus hätte in den kleinen Strassen Flores nicht durchgepasst. Vorher heben wir sicherheitshalber einige Quetzal ab, da es oft vorkommen soll, dass die ATMs auf der Insel nicht so recht wollen. Vom superfreundlichen Transfermitarbeiter, der hinzugestiegen ist, bekommen wir Infos satt. Wir buchen gleich die Fahrt nach Tikal und zurück 150 GTQ (20.63 USD) pro Person am Folgetag und den Transfer nach Palenque (Mexiko) 300 GTQ (41.25 USD) pro Person beim selben Unternehmen. Entgegen der Information, die wir hatten, daß es eine Mischung aus Boot/Bus/Taxifahrt nach Mexiko wird, ist das eine einfache Minibusfahrt. Es gibt inzwischen einen neuen Grenzübergang.

Guatemala Flores Hotel Key Backpacker Backpacking Travel

Den Schlüssel KANN man einfach nicht verlieren!

Das „Hotel Villa del Lago“ liegt gerademal 10m vom Drop-Off entfernt. Zwar haben wir das Geld für das Hotel nicht komplett parat, können aber einchecken. Supertoller Ausblick auf dem See. Wir schmeißen unsere Sachen ins Zimmer und laufen zum Supermarkt mit dem ATM. 2x 375 GTQ (51.56 USD) fürs Zimmer und paar mehr für die Verpflegung der nächsten Tage reicher kehren wir ins Hotel zurück (ich kaufe mir auch Irish Cream Coffee. Yummy.). Legen uns kurz hin und essen später im 5m entfernten Restaurant. Enchiladas als Vorspeise, Fajitas de pollo für mich und etwas kartottel-kohlrabiartiges ( ? ) * für Verena (alles zusammen ca. 250 GTQ (34.38 USD)). Superlecker, sehr freundliche Bedienung und tolle Aussicht auf den See. Wir gehen noch Proviant für morgen kaufen. Ab ins Bett. Um 3 werden wir für Tikal fertig sein müssen.

* Chayote

Leave a Reply

Von Belize nach Guatemala

von Mario Lesedauer: 2 min
0

From Belize to Guatemala

Caye Caulker – 

We pack our bags and get 2 Cinnamon Rolls from Starbucks. With lemonfrosting. Yum! I eat the first one on the jetty. Goodbye Caye Caulker. The crossing is fairly quiet, except for a 2-year-old who is testing the patience of his mother. Slapping Mama? Oh boy -_-.

Belize Caye Caulker Pirate Cemetery Backpacker Backpacking TravelBelize Caye Caulker Sunrise Beach Backpacker Backpacking Travel

Belize City – 

Belize Caye Caulker Beach Backpacker Backpacking TravelThe harbor looks pretty nice… I really don’t get why people think Belize City is ugly. My BZD-change gets invested in chewing gum. As we wait for the bus, we meet Ben again, who also wants to go to Flores, but then on to Nicaragua. We are a group of about 10 people. Sure, i complained about the mosquitoes on Caye Caulker, yet among the waiting people is a girl has so many stitches on her legs that they seem like freckles … Outch.
Next stop: Guatemala.

Border to Guatemala – 

Belize City Caye Caulker Guatemala Flores Border Backpacker Backpacking TravelWir exchange our remaining Belizian Dollar (BZD) to in Guatemalan Quetzal (GTQ) and keep each 37,50 BZD (18.77 USD) for our exit. The driver on the bus had already told us before departure to be sure to get the entry stamp in Guatemala. I know why: The officials in the entry are quite fast. Verena’s customs form was almost forgotten, and mine was just thrown on a big stack. And quite a lot of people just run by the Immigration Office and go for the bus. For a “nonstop bus” we kinda make a lot of breaks and pick up people or stop for snacks for the road. Fine for me – pee breaks.

Flores – 

Route Belize Caye Caulker Guatemala Flores Backpacker Backpacking TravelWe switch the large bus to 2 small ones, as the bus wouldn’t fit through the narrow streets of Flores. As precaution we withdraw some Quetzal there, since it often happens that the ATMs on the island aren’t working. We get a lot of information by the super friendly transfer employee which joins us. We reserve a trip to Tikal and back 150 GTQ (20.63 USD) per person on the following day and a transfer to Palenque (Mexico) 300 GTQ (41.25 USD) per person by the same company. Contrary to the information that we had, that you have to take a mix of boat/bus/taxi rides to Mexico, you can get there simply by a mini bus, since there is now a new border crossing.

Guatemala Flores Hotel Key Backpacker Backpacking Travel

You simply CANNOT lose this key!

The “Hotel Villa del Lago” lies just 10m from the drop-off station. Although we have the money for our stay not completely at hand, we can check in. Great view of the lake. We throw our stuff into the room and walk to a supermarket with an ATM. With 2x 375 GTQ (51.56 USD) for the room plus a few more GTQ-bills for meals the next day we return to the hotel (I also buy some Irish Cream Coffee. Yummy.). After a short break we visit the next door restaurant. Enchiladas as appetizer, fajitas de pollo for me and something potato-kohlrabi-like ( ? ) * for Verena (all together about 250 GTQ (34.38 USD)). Super delicious food, very friendly service and a great view at the lake. Afterwards, we buy some snacks for tomorrow. Off to bed. We have to be ready for our Tikal-tour at 3pm…

* Chayote

Leave a Reply

From Belize to Guatemala

by Mario time to read: 2 min
0