Tauchen in Varadero

Varadero –

Dieser Post ist Teil des Zusammenfassungs-Artikels Reiseroute Kuba für 2 Wochen inkl. Kosten . Man kann entweder die Links der Zusammenfassung für detailliertere Informationen über alle Stationen der Route anklicken, oder die Navigationsbar am unteren Bildschirmrand benutzen um sich durch die einzelnen Tage der Reise zu navigieren.

cuba varadero beach sunrise backpacker backpacking travelGnaaah – wieso stehe ich immer wieder im Urlaub so früh auf? Ich ziehe mich an und laufe mal los. Calle 46… Calle 45…Calle 44… Alter Schwede. Es ist noch 7 Uhr früh und mir fängt der Schweiß aus den Poren zu laufen. Es ist jetzt schon recht schwül – wie wird das wohl später am Tag sein? Immer wieder schaue ich nach hinten, ob ich ein Taxi sehe, das in meine Richtung fährt… Fehlanzeige. Aber ein Imbiss hat offen. Coffee to go & ne große Empanada… Ich bin fast schon 10 Blocks gelaufen, als ich ein Cocotaxi sehe, das auf der verlassenen Straße in meine Richtung fährt… Ein wenig Fuchteln und Hoffen, dass der Fahrer anhält – und ich sitze auf dem Rücksitz mit meinem Rucksack und den Flossen. „Buceo, Amigo?“. Aber sowas von, ich will jetzt nurnoch ins kühle Wasser. Für 2 CUC (2.00 USD) werde ich gerne zur Tauchbasis Baraccuda gefahren. Der Tauchguide, mit dem ich gestern schon gesprochen hatte wartet schon. Ich lege meine Quittung von gestern vor, damit sind auch alle Formalitäten erstmal erledigt. Ich kann draussen warten, es geht gleich los – naja, auch gut… ob drinnen oder draussen, es ist genauso warm und schwül .

cuba varadero beach road backpacker backpacking travelAuf der anderen Straßenseite steht ein Reisebus, neben dem ein Typ mit nem Rucksack auf dem Bordstein sitzt. Soll ich hier warten oder… gehts auf der Hinterseite der Basis los? Dort beginnt ja schon das Meer? Der Typ neben dem Bus ruft mich: „Gonna dive the Caribe too, mate?“. Damit ist klar, dass er ausm Känguruhland kommt . Das Wrack heisst also Caribe? Ich hab irgendwas von „B dreihundert-und-irgendwas“ gestern gehört und „Neptuno“? Ein wirkliches Briefing gibts wohl später. Ich komme nicht wirklich dazu mich mit Paul (dem Australier) zu unterhalten – der Guide kommt zusammen mit dem Busfahrer aus der Tür der Basis: „Vamos!“. Wir steigen in den Bus ein. Okay… das Boot liegt wohl doch nicht hier.

cuba varadero beach house backpacker backpacking travelDann geht es los: Alle paar hundert Meter halten wir an einem Hotel an und sammeln einige Taucher ein. Verdammte Axt, ich hätte mir das Laufen heute sparen können. Die ersten Leute, die wir einsammeln, sind noch pünktlich… aber je mehr es Richtung Westen zu den schickeren Hotels geht, desto mehr müssen wir warten. Einige verkaterte Partytouris kommen auch hinzu… Na super – vor dem Hotelklotz „Blau Varadero“ stehen wir erstmal ne gute Viertelstunde bis die zwei Herren „Muscleshirt“ gähnend in den Bus stolpern. Toll, das sieht ja schon nach Tauchunfall aus, da brauchen wir CSI Varadero nich, Fall abgeschlossen – die nehmen die echt mit? Weiter gehts… unsere letzte Station vor dem Yachthafen an eine schicki-micki Resort… Der Guide läuft rein, schaut sich um.. niemand in der Lobby. Durch die verglaste  Front kann man sehen, wie er mit der Lady beim Empfang redet. Sie telefoniert. Beide warten. Wir warten. 10…15 Minuten. Sie telefoniert nochmals. Es vergehen wieder 15 Minuten bis „mein Vater ist Anwalt“ in seinen pastell-zartrosa Shorts und seine Mama in Strandkleid, Sommerhut und XXL-Sonnenbrille erscheinen. „Nee, Nee… das sind nicht die auf die wir wart… oh. Oh! Doch.“ . Das klischeehafte high-snobiety Weib hat jetzt wohl nichts besseres zu tun, als den armen Guide anzukreischen, als er wohl irgendwas von wegen „jetzt aber mal schnell“ sagt. Wow, der Mann hat sich wohl vorher paar Valium reingezogen – anders erträgt man solche „Kunden“ nicht. Guide kommt zum Bus, Sohnemann mit den Händen in den Taschen und Mama klackert auf ihren Stilettos hinterher. Alle steigen ein… und… die Mexikaner vor mir aus Yucatan, mit denen ich in der Zwischenzeit ein wenig geplauscht hatte, fangen an langsam und ironisch zu klatschen. Der spöttische Beifall breitet sich im Bus aus, der Guide grinst dankend und die zwei Exemplate der Crème de la Crème setzen sich bedröppelt auf zwei Sitze. Na endlich.

cuba varadero beach backpacker backpacking travelDer Bus dreht ne Kurve, fährt vielleicht noch 300 Meter und hält an der Marina vor einer Bretterbude an. Die paar Meter hätte die Tante auf ihren Stöckelschuhen sicher nicht laufen können…

Das Einchecken in der Basis hier verläuft sehr chaotisch. Irgendwie habe ich das Gefühl, dass viele Köche hier den Brei verderben – Taucher stehen sich gegenseitig auf den Füßen, und an der Ausgabe für Equippment wird ständig nach dem Breviers gefragt, aber wirklich draufgucken tut niemand – dafür wird hektisch hin-und-hergerannt um Ausrüstung zu holen. Irgendwann habe ich alles vorrätig (und bin froh meine ABC-Ausrüstung selbst mitgebracht zu haben.. Einige Leute sind immernoch am Ausprobieren). Jetzt gehts aufs Boot… Oh! Stahlflaschen. Das ist mal was anderes. Einige Leute sind schon auf dem Boot, welches doch sehr groß ist – wir sind schon ne Menge Taucher hier. Dennoch habe ich keinen Plan, wer nun mit wem tauchen wird, und ob es Anfänger gibt, mit denen erfahrenere Taucher ein Buddy-Team bilden sollten. Immerhin sieht die Ausrüstung im Vergleich zur Tauchbasis in Playa Ancon top aus.

cuba varadero beach scuba dive boat backpacker backpacking travelWir fahren los – langsam an den ganzen Yachten und Mangrovenwäldchen vorbei… Richtung offenes Meer. Ich komme ins Gespräch mit den zwei Mexikanern aus Tulum, welche ihre ganze Ausrüstung mitgebracht haben auf ihren Trip. Die haben mitbekommen, dass wir heute nicht zum Patrol Boat 383 fahren, sondern uns die Wracks Neptuno und Caribe anschauen – weil wir auch recht viele unerfahrene Taucher dabeihaben. Auch gut, Wrack ist ist Wrack, oder?*

Eyyyyyo! Buceeeeeo in Varadeeeeero! Y después un bucaneeeeero!

cuba varadero beach scuba dive neptuno wreck backpacker backpacking travelGefühlt sind wir ne ganze Weile unterwegs, bevor wir am Spot ankommen. Ich habe genug Zeit mir von den Cenoten Mexikos vorschwärmen zu lassen – ich muss da echt hin… Die Wrecksite „Neptuno“ ist zuerst dran. Eingeteilt wird in zwei Gruppen, wobei einige Tauchguides sich noch eine kleinere dritte machen mit absoluten Anfängern. Diese bekommen einen persönlichen Aufpasser. Ein wirkliches Buddysystem gibt es nicht. Da ich neben Paul, dem einzelnen Taucher sitze, der hier auch solo hergekommen sind, gehen wir als Buddyteam zu 2t in die Gruppe mit den 2 Mexikanern.

cuba varadero beach scuba dive neptuno wreck backpacker backpacking travelEquipcheck und ab ins Wasser! Der Tauchgang soll recht einfach werden: Auf einer maximalen Tauchtiefe von 10 Metern sind die Überreste eines deutschen Dampfschiffes verstreut, welches bei einem Unfall in den 20er Jahren untergegangen ist. Einen merkwürdiger, aber entspannter Tauchgang. 10 Meter? Das fühlt sich fast wie schnorcheln an. Es ist übrigens schwer, das Schiff als solches zu greifen – zu sehr sind die Reste dieses Schiffes auf dem Meeresgrund verstreut. Einzig die großen Boiler geben eine gewisse Vorstellung von der Größe. Zwischen den Spalten des Wracks sammeln sich unzählige Fischschwärme, welche mit der Strömung hin-und-herschwingen. Einige vereinzelte Parrotfish und Barrakudas sind die größten Fische, die ich zu Gesicht bekomme – die Hauptattraktion ist das Wrack. Gefühlt verbrauche ich bei dieser Tiefe fast nichts an Luft…

cuba varadero beach scuba dive neptuno wreck backpacker backpacking travel cuba varadero beach scuba dive neptuno wreck backpacker backpacking travel cuba varadero beach scuba dive neptuno wreck backpacker backpacking travel
cuba varadero beach scuba dive caribe wreck backpacker backpacking travel

Selfie!

Wieder an Bord gibt es eine kurze Pause, bevor es ein Stück weit weitergeht zum nächsten Spot: Das Wrack „Caribe“. Flaschen tauschen und ab gehts. Auch das Wrack liegt bei knappen 10 Metern, dafür kann man erkennen, was es mal war: Ein Tugboat (Schlepper) das hier untergegangen ist. Man kann hier in die Steuerkabine hinein, wenn man sich ein wenig bückt. An der Seite des Schiffes entdecke ich einen Schwarm kleiner Barracudas, welche sich hier gegen die Strömung zu schützen scheint. Auch ein recht einfacher Tauchgang.

cuba varadero beach scuba dive caribe wreck backpacker backpacking travel cuba varadero beach scuba dive caribe wreck backpacker backpacking travel cuba varadero beach scuba dive caribe wreck backpacker backpacking travel

Für den Rückweg entscheide ich mich, am Parque Central rausgeschmissen zu werden. Logbucheintrag mache ich auf der Fahrt – und nen Stempel gibt es zum Glück in der Equipment-Hütte – den ganzen Weg lauf ich sicher nicht zweimal hin und her .

cuba varadero beach oldtimer backpacker backpacking travelIch treffe Vicky, Jannis und Frank an unserer „Lieblingsbar“ – die sind schon eifrig dabei Cocktails zu vernichten. Auch sie hatten verdammt viel Spass auf ihren Trip – Schnorcheln, sich die kleinen Inselgruppen vor Varadero anschauen… und als Mittagessen gabs Hummer . Achja: Ich sollte was essen. Hamburguesas & cerveza wiedermal. na dann…

Auf dem Rückweg zu unserer casa schauen wir noch beim Viazul-Büro vorbei: Mist, hätten wir früher erledigen sollen. Das Büro ist schon zu, und morgen geht unser Flug, da sollten wir lieber sichergehen und den ersten Bus nehmen. Alternativ gehts auch mit nem Taxi – wird aber halt teuer.

cuba varadero beach sunset backpacker backpacking travel cuba varadero beach house backpacker backpacking travel cuba varadero beach backpacker backpacking travel

*Man sollte es wirklich irgendwie so drehen, dass man sich die B 353 anschauen kann, sie ist es Wert, als ich mir später Fotos angeschaut habe

11 Comments

  1. Mario
    • Mario
  2. Mario
    • Mario
  3. Mario
  4. Mario
  5. Mario
  6. Mario

Leave a Reply

Tauchen in Varadero

von Mario Lesedauer: 6 min
11
Teilen
Twittern
+1
Teilen
Pin
Stumble

Scuba Diving in Varadero

Varadero –

This post is part of the summary-article 2-Week Itinerary Cuba on a Budget . You can either use the links in the summary to get detailed information about each place in the itinerary, or the floating bar at the botton of the page to navigate through each day.

cuba varadero beach sunrise backpacker backpacking travelGnaaah – why do I have to always get up so early on vacation? I get dressed and get going. Calle 46… Calle 45… Calle 44… Gosh. It’s 7 o’clock in the morning and I’m sweaty on every part of my body. It is already quite humid – just how will that be later in the day? I repeatedly look over my shoulder – maybe there is a taxi driving in my direction… Bad luck. But I see an open snack bar. Coffee to go & a big empanada… I’ve almost walked about 10 blocks when I see a cocotaxi coming my way on the empty road… I have both wands, jump around like a monkey, hoping the driver stops for me – and a few seconds later I’m sitting in the back seat with my backpack and fins. “Buceo, Amigo?”. You betcha! I just want to get into some refreshing water now. 2 CUC (2.00 USD) are totally worth not having to walk all the way to the Baraccuda dive center. The dive guide, with whom I had spoken yesterday is already waiting for me. I show him the receipt I got yesterday and all the formalities are done. As we’ll get going soon I can wait outside – well… it’s just as warm and humid inside or outside .

cuba varadero beach road backpacker backpacking travelThere is a guy with a backpack is sitting on the sidewalk next to a bus on the other side of the road. Should I wait here or… go to the back of the base? That’s where the beach is, right? The guy next to the bus notices me: “Gonna dive the Caribe too, mate?”. Definitely from Kangaroo Country . The wreck is called Caribe? I heard something about “B threehundred… something” yesterday and… “Neptuno”? We’ll probably get a real briefing later. I do not really get to talk to Paul (the Aussie) – the dive guide and the bus driver get out of the base: “Vamos!”. We get on the bus. Okay… it seems the boat we will be using is not here .

cuba varadero beach house backpacker backpacking travelWe get going: About every hundred meters we stop at a hotel and some divers enter the bus. Dammit, I could have saved myself all the walking today. The first guys are quite on time… but as we get to the more fancy hotels, we have to wait for the folks to get picked up. Some hangover party tourists seem to be diving with us… We have to wait about a quarter of an hour in front of the hotel “Blue Varadero” for two slept-in, yawning guys in muscleshirts to stumble into the bus. Great, this looks just like a diving accident about to happen – no need for CSI Varadero – case closed. Our last stop is right next to the marina at a fancy-schmancy resort… The guide gets into the building, looks around… nobody in the lobby. Through the glass front you can see how he talks to the lady at the reception. She’s having a phone call. Both are waiting. We are waiting. 10… 15 minutes. She picks up the phone again. It takes another 15 minutes for “my father’s a lawyer” in his pastel pink shorts and his mom in a beach dress, summer hat and XXL sunglasses to appear. “Nah, naaah… that’s not what we were waiting for…riiigh… oh, oh. It is?!?!” . The stereotypical high-snobiety broad seems to have forgotten her manners, now shrieking at the poor guide as he probably told her to hurry. Wow, this guy has probably taken quite a few valium pills this morning – how could he otherwise bear such “customers”? The guide walks towards the bus, Junior having his hands in his pockets and mommy clacking with her stilettos follow up. Everyone’s getting in… and … the Mexicans from Yucatan sitting in front of me, with whom I had been chatting in the meantime, start to golfclap slowly and ironically. The mocking applause spreads through the bus, putting a thankful smile on the guides face and making the two specimens of the crème de la crème sit embarrassed on their seats. Finally! We can go scuba diving!

cuba varadero beach backpacker backpacking travelThe bus turns around, drives about 300 meters and stops at the marina in front of a shack. I wonder if the chick on her high heels could have walked all the way here…

The Check-in at the base here is very chaotic. Somehow I have the feeling that too many cooks spoil the broth – divers are standing on each other’s way, and the distribution counter for equippment you get constantly asked for your  license, but nobody really takes a looks at it – instead people are frantically running back and forth to get equipment. At some point I have everything I need (and I’m glad to have brought my own ABC equipment… Some people are still trying on stuff). Time to get on the boat… Oh! We’re going to use steel flasks. That is something different. Some folks are already on the boat, which is quite big – we seem to be quite the big group also. However, I have no idea who I will dive with and whether there are beginners with whom more experienced divers should form a buddy team. After all, the equipment looks great compared to the diving center in Playa Ancon.

cuba varadero beach scuba dive boat backpacker backpacking travelWe drive off – slowly past the yachts and mangroves… towards the open sea. I get into conversation with the two Mexicans from Tulum who brought all their scuba gear along on their trip. They have noticed that today we are not going to dive at the “Patrol Boat 383”, but visit the wrecks “Neptuno” and “Caribe” – because we also have quite a few inexperienced divers with us. Fine with me, a wreck’s a wreck, isn’t it?*

Eyyyyyo! Buceeeeeo in Varadeeeeero! Y después un bucaneeeeero!

cuba varadero beach scuba dive neptuno wreck backpacker backpacking travelFeels like we’re quite a while on the boat before we get to the spot. I have enough time to get tons of info about the cenotes in Mexico – I have to really go there one day… The wrecksite “Neptuno” is our first dive. We get divided into two groups, and a smaller third one for absolute beginners having a personal guide. There doesn’t seem to be a real buddy system. Since I’m sitting next to Paul who also came alone to the trip, we join the group with the 2 Mexicans.

cuba varadero beach scuba dive neptuno wreck backpacker backpacking travelWe have a quick equipcheck and are off into the water! The dive should be quite simple: The remains of a German steamship are scattered at a maximum depth of 10 meters, which sank during the 20ies because of anaccident. A strange but relaxed dive. 10 meters? It almost feels like snorkeling. Incidentally, it is difficult to grasp the sunken ship as a whole – the remains of this ship are way too scattered on the seabed. Only the big boilers indicate that the ship must have been huge. Countless schools of fish gather in the holes of the wreck, going back and forth with the current. Some isolated parrotfish and barracudas are the biggest fish I get to see – the main attraction is the wreck itself. It almost feels like at this depth I don’t consume any air at all…

cuba varadero beach scuba dive neptuno wreck backpacker backpacking travel cuba varadero beach scuba dive neptuno wreck backpacker backpacking travel cuba varadero beach scuba dive neptuno wreck backpacker backpacking travel
cuba varadero beach scuba dive caribe wreck backpacker backpacking travel

Selfie!

Back on board, we have a short break before moving on to the next spot: The wreck “Caribe”. We swap the empty flasks for full ones and off we go. This wreck lies also at just about 10 meters depth, but you can easily recognize it as a tugboat. You can even enter the control cabin here. At one side of the ship I discover a school of small Barracudas, which seem to have taken cover from the current. Also a pretty easy dive.

cuba varadero beach scuba dive caribe wreck backpacker backpacking travel cuba varadero beach scuba dive caribe wreck backpacker backpacking travel cuba varadero beach scuba dive caribe wreck backpacker backpacking travel

As for my way back to Varadero I decide to get out at the Parque Central. I get my logbook entry done on the ride back to the marina and get a stamp at the equipment hut – no way I’m walking all the way back from the divebase .

cuba varadero beach oldtimer backpacker backpacking travelI meet Vicky, Jannis and Frank at our “favorite bar” – they are already having some cocktails on the beach. They had a lot of fun on their trip – snorkeling, visiting the small archipelago in front of Varadero… and having lobster for lobster . Right, I should also get something to eat. Once again hamburguesas & cerveza wiedermal. Oh well…

On the way back to our casa we get past the Viazul office: Shit, we should have come here earlier. The office is closed, and tomorrow is our flight, so to be on the safe side we should rather take the first bus. Alternatively, we could take a taxi – which will be more expensive.

cuba varadero beach sunset backpacker backpacking travel cuba varadero beach house backpacker backpacking travel cuba varadero beach backpacker backpacking travel

*You should really try to dive the B 383, as this dive is really worth it – I’ve seen some pictures…

11 Comments

  1. Mario
    • Mario
  2. Mario
    • Mario
  3. Mario
  4. Mario
  5. Mario
  6. Mario
  7. Mario
  8. Mario

Leave a Reply

Scuba Diving in Varadero

by Mario time to read: 6 min
11
Share
Tweet
+1
Share
Pin
Stumble