Bioluminiszenz

Bocas de Toro –

Panama Bocas Del Toro Yacht Backpacking Backpacker TravelWir haben erstmal ein kurzes erstes Frühstück und laufen zu La Buga für unsere nächsten Tauchgänge. Diesmal Tauchen wir in „Lunchbox“, ein Wrack eines Katamaranes und „Casa Verde“. „Lunchbox“ haben wir uns ausgesucht, weil man dort auch sehr gut den Nachttauchgang machen kann – sich den Divespot bei Tag anschauen ist ein ganz anderes Erlebnis. Karly wird diesmal mit uns als Guide tauchen. Mit an Bord ist ein spanisches Päarchen mit ihrem 6-jährigen Sohn. Kaum den Steg verlassen, packt der Knirps seine Matchbox-Autos aus, und das Deck wird ne Fahrbahn. Mama und Papa gehen nacheinander mit uns beiden für je einen Tauchgang mit – auch ein Beispiel für, dass Fernreisen mit Kind ganz gut funktionieren können .

Panama Bocas Del Toro Scuba Diving Divesite Lunchbox Spotted Moray Eel Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama Bocas Del Toro Scuba Diving Divesite Lunchbox Cowfish Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama Bocas Del Toro Scuba Diving Divesite Lunchbox Octopus Backpacking Backpacker Travel

„Lunchbox“ ist wirklich interessant. Viele Verstecke, viele Plätze, an denen sich Fische nachts aufhalten können. Vor Tauchende sehen wir noch zwei riesige Kraken, welcher sich im Riff versteckt haben. Allein ihre Augen sind Tischtennisballgroß – vielleicht kommen sie ja nachts raus…

Panama Bocas Del Toro Scuba Diving Divesite Lunchbox Toadfish Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama Bocas Del Toro Scuba Diving Divesite Lunchbox Squid Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama Bocas Del Toro Scuba Diving Divesite Lunchbox Surgeonfish Backpacking Backpacker Travel
ArrowArrow
ArrowArrow
Slider

Wieder auf Bocas in den Condos gibts ein langes 2tes Frühstück und eine Siesta.

Während ich zur Lavanderia laufe, um unsere Wäsche abzugeben, schaut Ena online nach Segelboot-Trips auf die umliegenden Inseln. Es gibt 3 Angebote: 2 auf normalen Segelschiffen und ein Partyboot-Trip. Kontaktaufnahme für unsere erste Wahl per Email oder direkt im Lokal Toro Loco – das kennen wir ja schon. Wir laufen zu Toro Loco und haben leider Pech: Der Inhaber des Bootes (dem auch das Lokal gehört) scheint nicht erreichbar zu sein – wir setzen uns erstmal hin und trinken was. Eine Veranda tiefer sitzen „Skinny Pete“ und seine Freunde und jammen ein wenig Country-Style mit Gitarren und Banjos. Ein wenig plaudern wir, die Zeit vergeht, aber wir haben kein Glück. Auch bei den Alternativen nicht: Die laufen morgen nicht aus. Müssen uns für morgen mal ne Alternative ausdenken – die typischen Frog Beach/Starfish Beach Trips wollen wir nicht unbedingt machen… vielleicht ja nach Zapatilla?

Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Colon Sunset Scuba Nightdive Backpacking Backpacker TravelDa es langsam Abend wird, wollen wir aufbrechen für unseren Nachttauchgang – unsere Getränke gehen diesmal sogar aufs Haus, Dank eines Mitarbeiters im Loco und Freund von Pete. Sehr, sehr Cool Abschied & aufmunternde Worte – wird sich vielleicht noch was ergeben.

Der Nachttauchgang ist extrem entspannend. „Lunchbox“ wimmelt nur so von Krabben und Hummern. Mehrere Lionfish schlafen an der Bugluke des gesunkenen Katamaranes. Während des ganzen Tauchganges hören wir vereinzelt Geräusche von Toadfish – dieses „Woop, woop, woop, woop“ wirkt sehr irritierend, gerade in der Dunkelheit, da im Wasser sich Schall schneller ausbreitet als in der Luft hört man die Toadfish so, als ob sie sich direkt neben dem eigenen Ohr befinden. Zu Gesicht bekommen wir jedoch Nachts keine – die sind schon extrem schwer bei Tageslicht auszumachen.

Panama Bocas Del Toro Scuba Diving Divesite Lunchbox Nightdive Crab Backpacking Backpacker TravelAuf den Rückweg sehen wir noch eine riesige Krabbe, die sich ein ein zugewachsenes Rohr verkriecht. Langsam erreichen wir eine sandige Stelle ohne Korallen – wir gehen in die Hocke, nehmen flachere Atemzüge und schalten die Lampen aus. Die Augen gewöhnen sich langsam an die Dunkelheit… vielleicht 0,5m Sicht haben wir, aber sehen winzige grüne Partikel um uns herum schwirren. Eine schnelle Handbewegung, und das viele kleine bioluminiszente Plankton wirbelt auf und leuchtet noch heller – und die Hand zieht Schlieren in der leuchtenden Wolke. Ein sehr toller Tauchgang. Generell habe ich viel weniger Luft verbraucht nachts als tagsüber – vielleicht, weil es ein wenig Strömung gab, und wir gedriftet sind, aber auch, weil ich mich entspannter gefühlt habe.

Panama Bocas Del Toro Scuba Nightdive Wreck Divesite Lunchbox Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama Bocas Del Toro Scuba Diving Divesite Lunchbox Nightdive Crab Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama Bocas Del Toro Scuba Nightdive Lionfish Wreck Divesite Lunchbox Backpacking Backpacker Travel

Zurück auf dem Steg von La Buga schreiben wir noch unsere Logbücher fertig und stoßen mit Karly und Lucy mit nem kühlen Bier an und plaudern ein wenig. Über Bastimentos, wo Karly wohnt, günstige Flüge zurück in die Heimat, gute Biersorten, Karneval und Festivals…

Irgendwann fängt der Magen an zu knurren und wir bestellen uns einen Bugita Burger und baconwrapped Snapper. Ena bleibt der Tropical Margerita treu und ich bestelle einen „Speciality Cocktail“ des Barkeepers (er scheint gerne alle paar Tage was neues auszubrobieren, meint Lucy) „Hot Lady“. Mit jeweils einen weiteren Cocktail lassen wir den Abend ausklingen.

One Response

  1. Mario

Leave a Reply

Bioluminiszenz

von Mario Lesedauer: 3 min
1

Bioluminiscence

Bocas de Toro –

Panama Bocas Del Toro Yacht Backpacking Backpacker TravelWe start our day with having a short (first) breakfast and walk to La Buga for our next scuba dives. This time we dive in “Lunchbox”, a wreck of a catamaran and “Casa Verde”. We have chosen “Lunchbox”, because we’ll as well do a night dive there – seeing the divespot at day is a completely different experience though. This time, Karly is going to dive with us as guide. There is also a Spanish couple with her 6 year old son. We hardly left the dock, and the little fella already unpacked all his Matchbox cars making the deck his playground. Mommy and Daddy have their dives successively with us with while having the other one taking care of junior – also a great example that long-distance travel can work quite well with children .

Panama Bocas Del Toro Scuba Diving Divesite Lunchbox Spotted Moray Eel Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama Bocas Del Toro Scuba Diving Divesite Lunchbox Cowfish Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama Bocas Del Toro Scuba Diving Divesite Lunchbox Octopus Backpacking Backpacker Travel

“Lunchbox” is really interesting. Many hiding places fish can stay at night. Before ending the dive end we get to see two giant octopus, which are hiding under some coral ledge. Their eyes seem to be about the size of pingpong balls, they must be huge – perhaps they’ll come out at our nightdive…

Panama Bocas Del Toro Scuba Diving Divesite Lunchbox Toadfish Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama Bocas Del Toro Scuba Diving Divesite Lunchbox Squid Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama Bocas Del Toro Scuba Diving Divesite Lunchbox Surgeonfish Backpacking Backpacker Travel
ArrowArrow
ArrowArrow
Slider

Again in Bocas Condos we have an extended 2nd breakfast  and a siesta.

While I walk to the Lavanderia to deliver our laundry, Ena looks online for sailboat trips to the surrounding islands. There are 3 offers: 2 on common sailing boats and some sort of party boat trip. You can contact our top pick by email or go directly to the Toro Loco bar. Since we’ve already been there one, we head to the bar. Unfortunately the owner of the boat (who also owns the bar) does not seem to be achievable – so we take a seat and decide to have some drinks first. We have a little chat with “Skinny Pete” and his friends who are sitting on the porch of the bar right at the street and have a country style jam session with the guitars and banjos they brought along. Time goes by, but we have no luck. Same thing with the alternatives: Both won’t leave the harbour tomorrow. Seems we have to come up with an alternative – but we don’t want to do the the typical Frog Beach / Starfish Beach trips… maybe visit Zapatilla instead?

Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Colon Sunset Scuba Nightdive Backpacking Backpacker TravelAs it is getting late, we have to leave for our nightdive – our drinks are even on the house this time, thanks to a Loco’s employee and friend of Pete. Very, very cool . We say goodbye and get some encouraging words – we will see what will happen tomorrow.

The nightdive is extremely relaxing. “Lunchbox” is full of crabs and lobsters. Several Lionfish sleep at the bow hatch of the sunken catamaran. Throughout the scuba dive we hear sporadic sounds of Toadfish – this “Woop, woop, woop, woop” is very irritating, specially in the dark, as sound moves faster in water than in air, it seems like the Toadfish are located right next to your own ears. However, we do not gat to face them in the night – they are already extremely difficult to locate in daylight.

Panama Bocas Del Toro Scuba Diving Divesite Lunchbox Nightdive Crab Backpacking Backpacker TravelWhile returning to the boat, we get to see a huge crab that hiding in a coral-overgrown pipe. Eventually, we get to a sandy place without any coral – we squat, take shallower breaths and turn out our flashlights. As our start adjusting slowly to the darkness (we may have just about 0,5m sight), we start seeing tiny green particles whizzing around us. A quick hand movement, and the numerous small bioluminescent plankton swirls and lights up even brighter – il looks like our hands sre smearing through a luminous cloud. A very great scuba dive. It seems I have consumed less air at this dive than during the other ones – perhaps because there was a little current helping us drift to the wreck, but also because I felt much more relaxed.

Panama Bocas Del Toro Scuba Nightdive Wreck Divesite Lunchbox Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama Bocas Del Toro Scuba Diving Divesite Lunchbox Nightdive Crab Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama Bocas Del Toro Scuba Nightdive Lionfish Wreck Divesite Lunchbox Backpacking Backpacker Travel

Back on the dock of La Buga we fill out our logbooks and have a cold beer with Karly and Lucy while having a chat about Bastimentos (where Karly lives), cheap flights back home, good beers, carnival and festivals…

Eventually, we get interrupted by our stomaches strating to growl and we order a Bugita Burger and a baconwrapped Snapper. Ena remains faithful to the Tropical Margerita and I order the specialty cocktail “Hot Lady” (The bartender seems to like to try out new recipies every few days, says Lucy). With each having another cocktail after our meal we enjoy the evening.

One Response

  1. Mario

Leave a Reply

Bioluminiscence

by Mario time to read: 3 min
1