Bocas del Toro

Boquete –

08:00 – Das Shuttle nach Bocas del Toro wartet schon vor dem Mamallena.
Wir fahren erstmal wieder in den Süden um eine Schleife zu drehen und über die Berge zur Isla Colon zu gelangen. David wird wieder umfahren. Wir steigen zu einem Bosque nublado – cloud forrest – hinauf die Nebelschwaden behindern die Sicht des Busfahrers ordentlich. Die Häuser am Wegrand werden je höher wir kommen zu Hütten, die Pickups vornedran immer weniger. Die Einwohner im Gebirge sind eher Teil der indigenen Bevölkerung, wie man an den zahlreichen „Molas“, traditionell gestickten Stoffen, an den Hausfronten erkennen kann.

Panama Boquete Street Backpacking Backpacker Travel Route Panama Boquete Bocas Del Toro Backpacking Backpacker Travel

Bocas del Toro –

Der Bus wird gegen ein Wassertaxi getauscht – und es wird grundsätzlich darauf bestanden, Rettungswesten zu tragen. Naja, wenns sein muss. Ich frage mich, was wohl passiert ist, dass dies nun eine strikte Anweisung ist. Wir fahren an einem grossen Chiquita Banana Frachter vorbei Richtung Isla Colon. Auf der Fahrt reden wir noch mit einem Kanadier, der schon Mal auf den Inseln war. Er war mit einigen Tauchbasen schon im Wasser, kann aber „La Buga“ am ehesten empfehlen.

The rickety panga skids across the ocean
and enters a tunnel of mangroves.
Islands appear on the pane of blue glass
each a unique treasure to behold.
Clapboard houses painted pastel hues
sit on stilts on docks over the turquoise bay
faded and weathered I wonder
if Bocas is a ghetto fabulous Nantucket.
On the main drag you’ll find
tour desks restaurants and dive shops.
A traveler with some cash
can have whatever he wants.
American expats, drunken sailors,
backpackers, drug dealers, and dancing queens
drink and dance until dawn.
Bocas feeds party fiends.

Panama Bocas Del Toro Palmtrees Backpacking Backpacker TravelBocas City ähnelt einer Mischung aus Varadero in Kuba (ohne die grossen Hotels) und San Pedro in Belize. Unsere Unterkunft ist ein Appartement in „Bocas Condos Rentals“. Wir wollten selber kochen können, zwar im Zentrum sein, aber auch Abseits von Partylärm – was aber wohl nicht wirklich ein Problem zu unserer Reisezeit ist. Bocas City füllt sich eher zur Spring Break Zeit, auch von argentinischen Jugendlichen… Bei Bocas Condos angekommen, sind wir doch ein wenig verunsichert: Das Grundstück gleicht einem Hochsicherheitstrakt: Der rote Lattenzaun ist mit Stacheldraht geschmückt und mehrere Kameras sind installiert. Man kann Bocas schlecht einschätzen: Wir hörten viele Berichte über Überfälle. Besonders die Insel Bastimentos soll mit Vorsicht zu genießen sein, da auch gewaltbereite Bewohner mit Macheten aus den Büschen Reisende überfallen, welche in kleiner Zahl den Weg zu Wizard Beach gehen. (Man sagt gerade deshalb auf Bastimentos eher gerne „Stay Safe“ als Abschiedsfloskel). *
Ist also diese Art von Security auch in Bocas Town nötig?

Wir hatten für eine Nacht ein kleines Appartement gemietet, welches jedoch für die Folgenächte ausgebucht war – also mussten wir auf ein grösseres für die restlichen 3 Nächte ausweichen.

Panama Bocas Del Toro Condos Backpacking Backpacker TravelDie Appartementinhaberin Frieda öffnet uns das Tor und bietet uns nach den Formalitäten an, einfach das grosse Appartement für die gesammte Zeit zum gleichen Preis zu nutzen. Ein Doppelzimmer, 2 Etagenbetten, Couch, Küche und Bad. Jede Menge Platz – soviel freien Raum hatten wir bisher nochnie!

Bei „Toro Loco“, einer Sportsbar, trinken wir einige erfrischende Drinks, bevor wir einkaufen gehen… Die örtlichen Supermärkte sind aufs wesentliche beschränkt. Dies jedoch dann in grosser Auswahl: Bier, Softdrinks, Cerealien, Fressalien… Whooohooo! Lucky Charms! Nur für mich! Wir kaufen reichlich fürs Frühstück ein, laden unsere Beute in der Küche ab und laufen nochmal raus um uns La Buga anzuschauen.

Panama Bocas Del Toro Houses Backpacking Backpacker TravelDie Location gefällt mir sehr: Eine sehr entspannte, angenehme Atmosphäre, die zunächst von „La Bugita“, dem Barrestaurant vor der Tauchbasis versprüht wird. Die Tauchbasis dahinter, die lockeren Guides, die vernünfigen Preise und das Eigenbau-Tauchboot (Ein umgebautes Katamaran! Die Fahrt zum Divespot muss mal ultra-entspannt mit sein! ) runden den Gesamteindruck ab: Morgen tauchen wir mit Lucy, einer Niederländerin, die es hierher verschlagen hat. Ein Wracktauchgang muss sein, finde ich, und am Schreibtisch meint noch ein anderer Guide, dass er persönlich einen Nachttauchgang empfehlen kann. In der Dunkelheit kann man hier bioluminiszentes Plankton beobachten. Klingt gut, wir haben sogar Neumond, da muss man das richtig gut sehen können. Wir planen mal 5 Tauchgänge für die nächsten 2 Tage ein. Nice

A tiny island that faces town
has got surf and lazy island vibes.
No cars, no shoes, no worries
just sit and watch the tides.
Come sunset sand fleas feed
on all of the fresh white meat.
Slather up with coco oil
or expect to lose your feet.

-by Camille Willemain

Panama Bocas Del Toro Police Quad Backpacking Backpacker TravelMit dem Wassertaxi fahren wir zur Nachbarinsel Carenero (ca. 1,5 PAB (1.50 USD), je nachdem, zu welchem Teil man will) für unser Abendessen in der „Cosmic Crab“. Von dort gibts den wohl schönsten Sonnenuntergang der 2 Inseln. Nach nem Snapper für mich, den Flonder für Ena und je 3 Cocktails nehmen wir satt und müde das Wassertaxi zurück. Pickup-Taxis hatten wir schon in El Valle gesehen (die gibt es hier auch), aber unterwegs sehen wir tatsächlich einen Polizei-Quad. Zurück im Appartement, lerne ich auch Friedas Mann – Jim – kennen, als ich nochmals nach den versteckten Lichtschaltern für alle Lichter des Wohnzimmers fragen will – grosses Wohnzimmer, viele Lichtschalter . Der ältere Herr im Bademantel mit dem starken Südstaatenakzent hilft auch sofort und wir schwätzen ein wenig. Das Securitysystem ist ihm wohl ein Hobby geworden, wie es aussieht, und er ist ganz stolz drauf – wobei er liebend gerne statt dem Stacheldraht ein Lasersystem mit Alarmanlage installieren will… sieht auch besser aus . Ich habe nun das Gefühl, dass das Ganze doch nicht soooo nötig und es hier doch ganz sicher ist (zumindest auf der Isla Colon). Wir wünschen uns noch eine gute Nacht, und er läd uns noch dazu ein, seinen Smoker auf der Terrasse anzuschmeissen, wenn wir das Fleisch mitbringen. Cool. Irgendwie erinnert er mich charakterlich ein wenig an meinen Grossonkel Stratos . Ich befürchte jedoch, dass wir Tagsüber die nächsten Tage immer unterwegs sein werden. Im Wohnzimmer schauen wir uns noch ne Folge Simpsons an, duschen und gehen ins Bett.

*Anmerkung: Auch gefährlich: Riptides. Gerade bei Red Frog Beach und und Starfish Beach gibt es jährlich viele Vorfälle, in denen Leute diese Strömungen unterschätzen und ertrinken. Also immer quer zur Strömung rausschwimmen!

One Response

  1. Mario

Leave a Reply

Bocas del Toro

von Mario Lesedauer: 4 min
1

Bocas del Toro

Boquete –

08:00 – The Shuttle to Bocas del Toro is already waiting at the Mamallena hostel.
It seems we have to first head south again towards David and make a detour to get to Isla Colon by driving over the mountains. As we ascend to a Bosque nublado – cloud forrest, the fog obscures the view of the bus driver almost completely. Strange how he manages to get us safely along the serpentine road. The higher we get, the less actual houses are along the road and the amount of more simple huts increases. The majority of the inhabitants of the mountains seem to be of the indigenous population, having lots of “molas”, traditional stiched clothing hung at the front walls.

Panama Boquete Street Backpacking Backpacker Travel Route Panama Boquete Bocas Del Toro Backpacking Backpacker Travel

 Bocas del Toro –

The bus get exchanged for a water taxi – and the operators are insisting in everyone wearing lifejackets. Oh well… I wonder what happened before causing this. As we head into the direction of Isla Colon we pass a large Chiquita Banana freighter. During our ride we get to talk to a Canadian who has already been on the islands several times. He was done some dives with most of the dive operators there, yet his first pick is “La Buga”.

The rickety panga skids across the ocean
and enters a tunnel of mangroves.
Islands appear on the pane of blue glass
each a unique treasure to behold.
Clapboard houses painted pastel hues
sit on stilts on docks over the turquoise bay
faded and weathered I wonder
if Bocas is a ghetto fabulous Nantucket.
On the main drag you’ll find
tour desks restaurants and dive shops.
A traveler with some cash
can have whatever he wants.
American expats, drunken sailors,
backpackers, drug dealers, and dancing queens
drink and dance until dawn.
Bocas feeds party fiends.Camille Willemain

Panama Bocas Del Toro Palmtrees Backpacking Backpacker TravelBocas City resembles a mixture of Varadero in Cuba (without the big hotels) and San Pedro in Belize. Our accommodation is an apartment in “Bocas Condos Rentals”. We wanted to be able to cook for ourselves and have our accommodation central, but also not right at all the party noise – but that probably is not really an issue at this time of the year here. Bocas City fills rather at Spring Break, mostly by Argentine youths having their holidays here… Once at Bocas Condos, we’re a little confused: The estate is similar to a high-security wing: The red picket fence is decorated with barbed wire and several cameras are installed. I think it is hard to rate Bocas in terms of security: We heard many reports about people being mugged. Especially the island Bastimentos should be treated with caution, as violent individuals have ambushed travelers who walk the path to Wizard Beach in small numbers carrying even machetes on several occasions. (It is said that incidents like these are the reason why “Stay Safe” is the common parting phrase on Bastimentos). *
So… is this kind of security actually needed in Bocas Town?

We had booked a small apartment for a night, which was however fully booked for the following nights – so we had to switch to a bigger one for the remaining 3 nights on Bocas.

Panama Bocas Del Toro Condos Backpacking Backpacker TravelFrieda, the landlord, opens the door and after we are done with the paperwork, she just offers us to use the large apartment for the entire time at the same price. A double room, 2 bunk beds, a huge bed, kitchen and bathroom. Plenty of space – I never had such a big room in any of my travels!

We drink some refreshing drinks in “Toro Loco”, a sports bar, before we go shopping… The local supermarkets are limited on the essential. However, then again “the essentials” come in a huge diversity: Beer, soft drinks, cereals, all kinds of unhealthy noms… Whooohooo! Lucky Charms! Just for me! We buy plenty of stuff for breakfast, drop our booty off in our kitchen and have a walk to visit La Buga.

Panama Bocas Del Toro Houses Backpacking Backpacker TravelThe Location is awesome: You get a very relaxed, pleasant atmosphere already at “La Bugita”, the bar-restaurant in front of the dive center. The easygoing guides in the dive center, the self-built dive boat (A converted catamaran! The drive to the givespot has to be ultra-smooth and relaxing here ) and the reasonable prices complete the overall gread impression: Our guide for tomorrow is Lucy from Denmark, who migrated to Panama. As I have a look at the different divesites I discover a wreck. I think a wreck dive is a must-be when you got the opportunity, and another guide sitting at the desk tells me that he personally would recommend a night dive to that said wreck. You can watch bioluminescent plankton in the dark here. Sounds good, and we even have new moon, so this effect can be seen even more clearly. Following plan for the next 2 days: 5 dives. Nice

A tiny island that faces town
has got surf and lazy island vibes.
No cars, no shoes, no worries
just sit and watch the tides.
Come sunset sand fleas feed
on all of the fresh white meat.
Slather up with coco oil
or expect to lose your feet.Camille Willemain

Panama Bocas Del Toro Police Quad Backpacking Backpacker TravelFor dinner, we go to the neighboring island Carenero by water taxi (approx 1.5 PAB (1.50 USD), depending on which part you want to go to) in the “Cosmic Crab”. From there you get the most beautiful sunset of the 2 islands. After a delicious snapper for me, a flonder for Ena, and 3 cocktails we get stuffed and tired back via water taxi. We had already seen pickup taxis in El Valle (they are also available here), but the police-quad we actually see on our way back is something new. Back at the apartment, I also get to know Friedas husband – Jim – as I have to ask for the somehow hidden light switches for the lights in the living room – large living room, many light switches). The older gentleman in a bathrobe having a thick southern accent, gladly helps us immediately and we have a little chat afterwards. It seems the installed security system of the building became some sort of hobby for him, and he sure is very proud of it – though he would love to exchange all the barbed wire with some laser security system… this wouldn’t look that obvious . I have the feeling now, that the whole thing isn’t that much needed to be safe here (at least not on Isla Colon). We wish each other a pleasant night, and he invites us to a BBQ on his porch – he’ll fire up his smoker, we bring the meat. Cool. Somehow he kinda reminds me a little personality-wise of my great-uncle Stratos . I’m not sure though if we will have time to get to accept his offer as we will always be doing activities during the day. We let ourselves fall into the couch in the living room, watch an episode of The Simpsons, have a shower and go to bed.

*Note: Also really dangerous: Riptides. Especially at Red Frog Beach and Starfish Beach there are annually many incidents where people underestimate the currents and drown. So always swim crosswise to the flow!

One Response

  1. Mario

Leave a Reply

Bocas del Toro

by Mario time to read: 5 min
1
Share
Tweet
+1
Share
Pin
Stumble