Drop everything and go to San Blas

Panama City –

Route Panama City San Blas Backpacking Backpacker TravelUm 04.30 lazert das Einhorn . Gnah… kaum zum schlafen gekommen. Wir packen unsere Sachen, welche zur Hälfte aus Nahrung bestehen und laufen hinauf zum Lounge des Hostels. Zwei Mädels, welche Volunteering in San Blas machen wollen, sind auch schon da. Kurz vor 5 stehen wir auf dem Balkon von Mamallena. Ein Taxi kommt, läd 4 Leute aus, die wohl auch zum Hostel wollen – ich winke, sie winken zurück. Die sind sicherlich genauso happy so früh wach zu sein. Not. Kurz darauf hält ein schwarzer SUV unten… Jap, unsere Mitfahrgelegenheit. Wir steigen ein, fahren noch ein Weilchen und halten am Hilton an. 2 Mädels laufen aus der Eingangstür, beide recht aufgestyled/ausgehfertig gekleidet und eine sogar bei der Temperatur mit ner Lederjacke an. Hmm – Wir sitzen schon im richtigen Wagen oder ? Keine Ahnung was ich von den beiden halten soll. In nächsten, nicht ganz so exklusiven Hotel steigt noch ein weiteres Pärchen ein, gefolgt von einem dritten bei einer Reiseagentur, an der wir etwas länger halten. Nach einer kurzen Weiterfahrt aus der Stadt raus (mit Blick geradeaus auf die nächtliche Skyline) machen wir noch einen Stop in einer Mall außerhalb für Proviantkauf, den dringend benötigten Kaffee und ne Pipipause.

Die weitere Strecke wirkt sehr monoton. Eine kerzengerade Straße, mit ab und an uns entgegenkommenden Chickenbussen… bis wir nach links auf eine Strasse in ein Waldstück abbiegen. „San Blas Hills“ ist ausgeschildet. Hills? Ja. Die Strecke Palenque – San Christobal in Mexico kann nicht annähernd gegen anstinken. Das hier ist ne Achterbahnfahrt. Kein Wunder, dass wir mit nem SUV abgeholt wurden. Zwischen den Waldstücken kommen wir immer wieder an Stellen, an denen man eine schöne Aussicht auf tiefergelegene Täler hat. Ca 20km später kommen wir an den Kontrollposten des Kunagebietes. 20 PAB (20.00 USD) werden hier fällig für die Einreise. Dann geht die Fahrt weiter zu den Docks im Golf von Kuna Yala.

San Blas –

Kuna Yala oder San Blas ist ein autonomes Gebiet der indigenen Bevölkerung der Kunas. Der Ausmaß der Fläche zieht sich vom Kuna Yala Golf rund 200 Kilometer bis zur kolumbianischen Grenze. Eine Kette aus etwa 365 Inseln befinden sich vor der Küste, wovon 36 bewohnt sind. Das das Land weder gekauft noch verpachtet werden darf, finden sich kaum touristische Einrichtungen auf den Inseln – erst recht keine Hotels oder Tauchbasen. Um dorthin zu gelangen kann man es wie wir machen und einen 3-Tages-Trip bei Mamallena buchen, oder diesen Trip auf weniger Tage einschränken. Auch kann man grob festlegen, welche Inseln man besuchen möchte, aber es besteht keine Pflicht, dass dies möglich ist. Die meisten Reisenden besuchen Kuna Yala mit den Boot von Kolumbien aus kommend – auch ist hier ein Segel-Trip möglich, was ein wenig mehr Organisation erfordert (laut unseren Infos sollte man bei jeder Insel die Erlaubnis des Inhabers einholen müssen, was sich während unserer Reise als Fehlinfo herrausstellte)

Panama San Blas Starfish Island Snorkeling Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama San Blas Starfish Island Snorkeling Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Perro Dog Island Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Chichime Path Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Aroma Nightsky Stars Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Aroma Hut View Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Aroma Nightsky Stars Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Perro Dog Island Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Starfish Island Backpacking Backpacker Travel
ArrowArrow
ArrowArrow
Slider

Mit nem Boot gehts erstmal weiter auf die Hauptinsel der Kunas. Von Stand & Palmen ist hier nichts zu sehen. Wir legen an einem Steg an, welcher in eine größere, zweistöckige Hütte aus Bast mit zwei vornedran aus Holzbrettern gezimmerten Plumsklos mit den Schriftzug „SCHEISSHAUSS“ mündet. Right. Da die 2 Kunas, welche uns abgeholt haben, noch einige Besorgungen machen müssen, werden wir für 10-15min rausgelassen um uns umzuschauen. Irgendwie laufen wir zwischen den ganzen Basthütten einfach in eine Richtung – hier kann man sich sehr einfach verlaufen. Alles sieht gleich aus. Der Rest der Gruppe folgt uns brav – irgendwie kommt uns das ganze vor wie ein Schulklassenausflug: „Jeder nimmt seinen Partner an die Hand, dass niemand verlorengeht“ . À propos Schule: Genau in ein Schulhof laufen wir auch der Straße folgend hinein. Überall werden wir höflich begrüßt und grüßen ebenso freundlich zurück, aber ich fühle mich grad extrem fehl am Platz. Man kann durch die Schlitze der Bastwände der Hütten und durch die offenen Türen und Fenster überall reinschauen. Ohne die Zeit im Blick gehabt zu haben, waren wir losgelaufen – wir drehen also um. Wahrscheinlich wartet man schon auf uns – die Menschenmenge folgt. Ich hatte gehofft, ein Gespräch hier anfangen zu können, doch es bleibt nicht viel Zeit. Zurück an der zweistöckigen Hütte wird uns mitgeteilt, dass dies eigentlich „Catis Homestay“ wäre – nen Blick oben können wir werfen: Sieht aus wie ein Hostel mit viel Graffiti… in deutsch. Das erklärt auch das „SCHEISSHAUS“, hier kommen wohl auch viele Deutsche hin.

Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Aroma Boat Backpacking Backpacker TravelUnsere Reise geht weiter zur Insel „Aroma“. Hier tut sich ein ganz anderes Bild auf: Wo auf der Hauptinsel von Kuna Yala keine einzige Palme Schatten gespendet hat, gibt es hier nichts anderes als Palmen und einige, 2-3m voneinander entfernte Hütten. Ich hatte ja schon gehört, dass die Kunas versuchen, ihr Gebiet sauberzuhalten, jedoch viel Müll angeschwemmt wird (und auf der Hauptinsel habe ich einiges am Steg rumschwimmen sehen) – aber das hier war schon fast übertrieben: Saubere Strände habe ich schon einige gesehen – die letzten bei Coiba & Zapatilla – aber… hier habe ich das wohl surrealste Bild vor Augen, als einer der Einwohner den Strand mit einem Rechen bearbeit.

Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Perro Dog Island Volleyball Backpacking Backpacker TravelPanama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Perro Dog Island Backpacking Backpacker Travel

Zunächst unterschreiben wir im Gästebuch und bekommen unsere Hütte zugewiesen (Zelten kann man auch, doch wir hatten uns für eine Basthütte entschieden – sicher ein interessantes Schlaferlebnis). Wir laufen an einigen anderen Gästen vorbei, die in Hängematten liegen zu unserer Hütte und laden unsere Sachen ab – denn es soll gleich weitergehen. Die 2 Mädels vom Hilton haben die Hütte neben uns. Hmm, kein Schloss an unserer Hütte. Naja, okay, „Wer sollte schon etwas stehlen auf der Insel?“… oder so ähnlich. Ich wickle ein Stück Schnur um einen Nagel an der Tür und binde das ganze fest – So steht die Tür nicht komplett offen. Badesachen, Kamera mitnehmen und ganz wichtig: Wasser. Dann gehts Richtung Boot. Ein Blick auf die anderen Hütten: auch hier keine Schlösser. Ist wohl ok so.

Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Perro Dog Island Steamboat Wreck Snorkeling Backpacking Backpacker TravelPanama San Blas Kuna Yala Chichime Island Backpacking Backpacker TravelPanama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Perro Dog Island Steamboat Wreck Snorkeling Backpacking Backpacker Travel

Mit dem Boot kommen wir auf der Isla de Perro an, von der das Pärchen in der Smoothiebar in El Valle berichtet hat. Kann auch verstehen warum: Es sieht recht cool aus hier: Zwei recht nah gelegene Inseln, man könnte problemlos rüberschwimmen. Einige geankerte Katamarans. Ein altes Dampfschiffwrack dazwischen… Aufgestellte Volleyballnetze und laufende Reaggemusik. Die Insel gegenüber scheint eine der „Wohninseln“ zu sein, auf der Besucher untergebracht werden. Wie es aussieht muss man hier Eintritt zahlen (3 PAB (3.00 USD) / Nase). Wir verbringen unsere Zeit hier damit, etwas Tortillas&Salsa zu essen, Abuelo Rum mit Cola zu trinken, relaxen und zu schnorcheln (Maske und Schnorchel haben wir mitgenommen, Flossen gibts leihweise). Während ich im Sand liege schießt ein Blackbird (im Vergleich zu Nordamerika haben die hier in Mittelamerika einen V-förmigen Schwanz) von einer Palme herrunter und versucht den grossen Beutel mit Fressalien zu stehlen. Der Beutel ist doch viel zu schwer, dämliches Vieh ! Irgendwie ist es angenehmer, den ganzen Tag Badezeug zu tragen.

Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Perro Dog Island Steamboat Wreck Snorkeling Backpacking Backpacker TravelZur Mittagszeit geht es zur Insel „Chichime“, wo wir die 2 Volunteer-Mädels wiedersehen. Die waren wohl ne ganze Weile heute morgen dabei, Kokosnüsse zu raspeln für Coconut Rice. „Und wehe es schmeckt euch nicht!“ – Surprise! Ja, sie wohnen auch in Deutschland, sind aber Griechinnen. Das Mittagessen besteht aus Fisch, Coconut Rice, Salat und zum Nachtisch Früchte. Bier & Softdrinks gibt es für 1 PAB (1.00 USD). Ne Weile später kommt eine andere Gruppe, wohl von der Nachbarinsel zu Isla Perro in nem.. Partyboot an und kündigt sich durch Musik aus ner Boombox an. Die andere Gruppe bekommt nun auch etwas zu essen. Wir plauschen noch ein wenig mit den Neuankömmlingen, besonders nem gutgelaunten britischen Pärchen – unter anderem über die starke Sonneneinstrahlung und dass Verbrennungen dritten Grades behandlungsnötig seien (Ich habe mich auch wiedermal spärlich eingecremt – zum Glück sieht man dank der Bräune (Thank you Mittelmeerwurzeln!) den Sonnenbrand bei mir weniger). Nach dem Nachtisch und Rumgammeln am Strand und in Hängematten werden wir wieder (mit einem kurzen Stop auf einer Sandbank) zu Aroma geschippt.

Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Aroma Island Sunset Backpacking Backpacker TravelPanama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Aroma Sunset Backpacking Backpacker TravelPanama San Blas Kuna Yala Aroma Island Stars Backpacking Backpacker Travel

Jetzt kann ich an unserer Tür in Ruhe mal die Zettel lesen, die dort hängen*. Wir duschen und legen uns erstmal für ein Nickerchen hin – die starke Sonneneinstrahlung macht einen schon zu schaffen. Man fühlt sich weniger lange wach. Beim Eintragen in das Gästebuch hat man uns schon gesagt, dass wir zum essen gerufen werden. Ich bin halbwach, als wir eine art Posaune ( ? ) hören. Wie es aussieht, werden wir gleich Abendessen haben – Einer der Kunas läuft an den Hütten vorbei und bläst in eine Muschel. Wir rappeln uns auf und laufen zur großen Hütte am Bootsteg. Kaum an der Nachbarhütte vorbei, hört man es in den Palmen knacksen, rascheln und ein Palmenblatt fällt knappe 3m von uns entfernt zu Boden . Bin ich eigentlich versichert gegen „death by coconut“? Es gibt Spaghetti mit Würstchen. Komisch – ich hatte eher Fisch erwartet. Viel Fisch, mit Patacones oder so. Da Ena was glutenfreies braucht, bekommt sie gebratene Madura mit Salat. Hmm, hätt ich auch gern – während ich auf ihr essen schiele. Ein wenig reden wir noch mit den anderen Gästen, aber nicht zu lange, wir fühlen ziemlich alle, und es ist auch schon dunkel geworden. Vielleicht täusche ich mich, aber ich dachte, dass wir heute nochmal zur Kuna Hauptinsel fahren sollten… zum Abendessen? Vielleicht war das wohl morgen. Der Generator läuft, und wir laufen zu unserer Hütte. Zwischen Hütten und Palmen sind übrigens viele Verlängerungskabel und Mehrfachsteckdosen gespannt, welche in Abständen eine Lampe haben. Ebenso in unserer Hütte. Ich mache einige Fotos vom Nachthimmel – Es gibt zwar hier fast absolut keine Lichtverschmutzung, aber es ist doch etwas bewölkt und Vollmond. In Kombination gibt das den recht merkwürdigen Effekt, dass man zwar einiges an Sternen sieht, aber das reflektierte Sonnenlicht das Foto taghell erscheinen lässt. Dann gehts ab ins Bett.

*Info:

  • Check-In: 9:00 am Check-Out 4:00 pm.
    (Da man generell überall hingebracht wird, ist das egal )
  • Passing through Nusagandi is allowed between 7:00 am and 5:00 pm.
    (Aroma hat also 2 Namen… und die Insel betreten darf man als nicht-Gast schon, nur nicht hier übernachten also)
  • No pets allowed.
  • No illegal drugs allowed in the hotel.
  • Do not litter.
  • Ask for permission before taking pictures of people. Respect local culture.
    (Hallo, common sense!)
  • If you listen to music, do it at a moderate volume.
  • No skinny-dipping on the beach.
    (Hihi )
  • The use of fishing nets, harpoon and diving tanks is not permitted.
  • Personal watercrafts that use a propulsion turbine are not allowed like Jet Skis, Wave Runners or Aqua Rays.
  • The eating schedule is as follows:
    Breakfast: 7:00 am – 10:00 am
    Lunch: 12:00 am – 3:00 am
    Dinner: 6:00 am – 9:00 am
  • Electricity is from 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm.
    (Der Generator läuft bei Nachteinbruch, bis zwischen 22:00 und 0:00 gibt es Licht)
  • Use Water wisely. Do not waste water.
  • Unregistered persons are not allowed in guest rooms.
  • Its forbidden to smoke in the room.
  • Do not throw paper inside the toilet.
  • Room keys must be handed in reception.Any damage caused in the room will be charged to your bill.

Leave a Reply

Drop everything and go to San Blas

von Mario Lesedauer: 8 min
0

Drop everything and go to San Blas

Panama City –

Route Panama City San Blas Backpacking Backpacker TravelIt’s 04:30 and pewpew goes the unicorn . Gnah… almost got no sleep at all. We pack our stuff (half of it is actually food) and take the stairs to the hostel lounge. Two girls, who want to do some volunteering in San Blas, are already there. Just about 5:00 we are standing on the balcony of Mamallena. A taxi arrives and a party of 4 gets out. Probably here for the hostel – I wave at them, they wave back. They are certainly as happy as me to be up this early. Not. Just a few minutes later, a black SUV arrives… Yep, that’s our ride. We get in, drive on for a few minutes and stop in front of the Hilton hotel. 2 girls walk out the front door, both kinda way to overdressed and styled up, one of them even wearing a leather jacket despite the rather warm temperatures. Hmm – we are sitting in the right car right? No clue what to make of them. At the next, not quite as exclusive hotel, another couple gets in, followed by a third one at a travel agency, in which we have to wait a little longer. After a short ride out of town (looking straight at the night skyline) we make a stop at a mall for supply purchase, having a desperately needed coffee and go to the bathroom.

The ongoing route is quite monotonous. As we drive down a straight road we see now and then some Chicken Buses going the other direction… until we turn left at a sign having “San Blas Hills” written on into a dirtroad. Hills? Yes. I mentioned the route Palenque – San Christobal in Mexico  in another post, right? This road here is in a whole different league. Feels just like a roller coaster ride. No wonder that we were picked up by a SUV. Yet, there are multiple beautiful views on valleys lying beyond. About 20km later we arrive at the checkpoints of the Kuna area. 20 PAB (20.00 USD) are due for entering here. After this short stop, the journey continues to the docks in the Gulf of Kuna Yala.

San Blas –

Kuna Yala or San Blas is an autonomous territory of the indigenous population of the Kunas. It consists of a narrow, about 200km long strip of land stretching from the Kuna Yala Gulf to the Colombian border. An archipelago of 365 islands is around the coast, of which 36 are inhabited. This land may not be bought or leased and barely any touristic facilities can be found on the islands – no hotels or dive centers. You can get there just like we did and book a 3-day trip at Mamallena, or limit this trip to a fewer days. You can also determine a little which islands you want to visit, but there is no guarantee to that. Most travelers visit Kuna Yala coming by boat from Colombia – sailing trips sure are possible, but require a bit more organization (according to our information you have to to obtain the specific island’s owner’s permission to visit it, which revealed itself as incorrect during the following days)

Panama San Blas Starfish Island Snorkeling Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama San Blas Starfish Island Snorkeling Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Perro Dog Island Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Chichime Path Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Aroma Nightsky Stars Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Aroma Hut View Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Aroma Nightsky Stars Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Perro Dog Island Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Starfish Island Backpacking Backpacker Travel
ArrowArrow
ArrowArrow
Slider

Next, we enter a boat and have a ride to the main island of Kunas. No beaches or palms to see here. We stop at a landing stage which leads to a larger, two-story hut made of bast with two pit latrines in front having the word “SCHEISSHAUS” written on a wooden plank. Alright. Since the 2 Kunas who picked us up still need to run some errands, we are free to have a look around for 10-15min. Somehow we end up going in between all the huts just in one direction – you can get lost very easily here, since everything looks the same. The rest of the group kinda follows us obediently – somehow this feels like some sort of school field trip: “Everyone takes his partner’s hand, so no one gets lost.” Speaking of school: Following the road, we just stumble into a school playground. We are greeted politely everywhere and of course we greet as friendly back, but I feel extremely misplaced here. You can easily have a view into the interior of the huts through the open doors and windows. Having lost track of the time, we decide to return. They are probably already waiting for us – the crowd follows. I had hoped to be able to start a conversation here, but there is not much time. Back at the two-story cottage we informed that this is actually “Catis Homestay” – we’ll be staying elsewhere, but we can have a look upstairs: Looks like a hostel with a lots of graffiti … in German. This also explains the “SCHEISSHAUS” outside. Well, “They’re everywhere”.

Isla Aroma

Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Aroma Boat Backpacking Backpacker TravelOur journey continues to the island “Aroma”. Here, you get a whole different scenery: Where there were no palm trees providing any shade on the main island at all, here the place is full of them. Just about 15 huts were built here having a distance of 2-3m from each other. I had already heard that the Kunas are trying to keep their area clean, but some garbage is still washed ashore (and I saw a lot floating around at the main island’s landing stage) – but whats happening here is almost exaggerated. I’ve seen some clean beaches – the last ones at Coiba & Zapatilla – but… here I get to see some quite surreal picture: One of the residents cleaning up the beach with a rake.

Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Perro Dog Island Volleyball Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Perro Dog Island Backpacking Backpacker Travel

First, we get to sign the guestbook and get afterwards assigned our cabin (you can also sleep in tents here, but we decided for a basthut – certainly an interesting experience sleeping in one). We go past some other guests lying in hammocks and arrive at the cabin to unload our stuff there – we have to hurry a little, since we are about to visit another island soon. The 2 girls we picked up at the Hilton got the hut next to us. Hmm, no lock on our cabin. Well, okay, “Who would try so steal anything on this island?”… or something like that. I wrap a piece of bast fibre around a sticking-out nail on the door and fixate everything – The door won’t be completely open this way. Swimming shorts, camera and most important: Water. That’s all we need to bring along. Then head towards the boat. A quick look at the other cabins: Also no locks here. Probably ok this way.

Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Perro Dog Island Steamboat Wreck Snorkeling Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Chichime Island Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Perro Dog Island Steamboat Wreck Snorkeling Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Isla de Perro

The island we arrive at is Isla de Perro, which the couple we met in the Smoothiebar in El Valle already told us about. I can also understand why they liked it: It has a great atmosphere: Turquoise water, there are some anchored catamaran, an old steamboat wreck lying just a few meters from the beach… the ongoing Reggaemusic rounds everything up. There is a quite close located island two islands you could easily swim across which seems to be one of the “residential islands”, where visitors can stay on. It looks like you have to pay admission fee here (3 PAB (3.00 USD) / person). We spend our time here eating tortillas with salsa, drinking Abuelo rum with coke, relax and go snorkeling (we also brought our own masks and snorkels, and borrowed some fins). As I’m lying down in the sand, I see a Blackbird (Compared to North America, here in Central America they have a V-shaped tail) shooting down from a nearby palm tree trying to steal the big bag with all the munchies – without any success. This bag is way to heavy for you, stupid ! Somehow it’s way more comfy to wear swimming shorts all day long.

Isla Chichime

Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Perro Dog Island Steamboat Wreck Snorkeling Backpacking Backpacker TravelWe ride over to the island “Chichime” for lunch, where we again meet the 2 volunteering girls. They were probably busy quite a while rasping coconuts for all that Coconut Rice they have prepared. “Don’t you dare to complain! We worked hard for it.” – Surprise! Yes, they are from Germany too, but actually also Greek. The lunch consists of fish, Coconut Rice, salad and fruit for dessert. Beer & soft drinks are available for 1 PAB (1.00 USD). After a while another group (probably from the neighboring island to Isla Perro) arrives in some kind of… party boat and is “heralded” by music coming from a boombox. They also sit down to eat and we have a chat with the newcomers, especially with a good-humored British couple – among other things, about the strong sunlight here and that third degree burns have to be treated (I have also again forgotten to put on some sunscreen – luckily the tan I got hides the sunburn more or less, thanks to my Mediterranean roots). After dessert and hanging out on the beach and in the hammocks we get brought back to Aroma (with a short stop at a sandbank).

Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Aroma Island Sunset Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Isla Aroma Sunset Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama San Blas Kuna Yala Aroma Island Stars Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Isla Aroma

I have now time to have a look at the note hanging at our cabindoor*. We take a shower and lie down for a nap first – the strong sunlight and the heat kinda makes you sleepy. While signing the guestbook back then, we were already told that we’d be called when dinner is ready. I’m barely awake when I notice some sort of trumpet ( ? ). It’s dinnertime it seems – One of the Kuna hosts walks between the huts while blowing into a shell. We get slowly out of bed and head to the larger hut near the boat dock. As I barely walk past the neighboring cabin, I hear some crackling and rustling up the palm trees, and a palm leaf falls to the ground about 3m from our position . Am I insured against “death by coconut”? For dinner, there is spaghetti with sausages. Strange – I expected fish here. Plenty of fish, with Patacones or something like that. Since Ena has to eat something gluten-free, she gets some fried Madura with salad. Hmm, I’m kinda jelly. We stay a little and chat with the other guests, yet we are pretty tired, and it is now dark. Perhaps I am mistaken, but I thought that we were supposed to go to Kuna main island today for dinner? Maybe tomorrow. The generator is running, and we walk back to our cabin. Many extension cords with power sockets are attached at the huts and some palms, having lamps in between. Before going to bed, I grab my camera to take some photos of the night sky – While there is almost absolutely no light pollution here, it is kinda cloudy and we got a full moon. This combination makes some strange effect, being able to see the stars, yet having the reflected sunlight by the moon make everything appear as bright as day.

*Info:

  • Check-In: 9:00 am Check-Out 4:00 pm.
    (Since you can only leave via motorboat, i don’t think this matters )
  • Passing through Nusagandi is allowed between 7:00 am and 5:00 pm.
    (Aroma seems to have 2 Names… and you are allowed to get on the island not being a guest here, you just aren’t allowed to stay overnight)
  • No pets allowed.
  • No illegal drugs allowed in the hotel.
  • Do not litter.
  • Ask for permission before taking pictures of people. Respect local culture.
    (Hallo, common sense!)
  • If you listen to music, do it at a moderate volume.
  • No skinny-dipping on the beach.
    (Hehe )
  • The use of fishing nets, harpoon and diving tanks is not permitted.
  • Personal watercrafts that use a propulsion turbine are not allowed like Jet Skis, Wave Runners or Aqua Rays.
  • The eating schedule is as follows:
    Breakfast: 7:00 am – 10:00 am
    Lunch: 12:00 am – 3:00 am
    Dinner: 6:00 am – 9:00 am
  • Electricity is from 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm.
    (The Generator gets started at sunset, and there is light till 22:00 or 0:00 )
  • Use Water wisely. Do not waste water.
  • Unregistered persons are not allowed in guest rooms.
  • Its forbidden to smoke in the room.
  • Do not throw paper inside the toilet.
  • Room keys must be handed in reception.Any damage caused in the room will be charged to your bill.

27 Comments

  1. Mario
    • Mario
  2. Mario
    • Mario
  3. Mario
    • Mario
  4. Mario
    • Mario
  5. Mario
  6. Mario
  7. Mario
  8. Mario
  9. Mario
  10. Mario
  11. Mario
    • Mario
  12. Mario
    • Mario
  13. Mario
  14. Mario
  15. Mario
  16. Mario
  17. Mario
  18. Mario
  19. Mario

Leave a Reply

Drop everything and go to San Blas

by Mario time to read: 8 min
27