Erst Meer, dann Berge

Santa Catalina –

Gestern hatten wir noch von zwei anderen Orten erfahren, welche auch interessant zu sein scheinen, wir jedoch – da wir und als nächstes Ziel für Boquete entschieden haben – nicht berücksichtigen: Santa Fé soll recht ähnlich wie El Valle sein, jedoch abseits der Panamericana – hätten wir mehr Zeit, wäre das ein Besuch wert. Die Lost and Found Ecolodge in der Nähe Boquetes macht auch einen interessanten Eindruck.

Der Transfer geht zwischen 12.00 und 13.00, haben also noch etwas Zeit, den Strand vom östlichen Part Santa Catalinas anzuschauen und dort zu frühstücken. Der Weg zieht sich, gerade, als wir das letzte Haus vom Taucherdorf passieren und auf der Strasse zwischen Feldern laufen. Trotz früher Morgenstunden, ist es warm. An einigen Surferunterkünften vorbei, gelangen wir zum Strand. Ein Wasserrinnsal kreuzt den Weg. Ein wenig Fußerfrischung bis wir gegenüber bei Surf Oasis ankommen. Ich mag den Vibe dort – und höre ausnahmsweise mehr Englisch als Deutsch um mich herum. Gibt wohl nicht soviele deutsche Surfer hier. Wir frühstücken ausgiebig. Ich finde, der ösliche Teil Santa Catalinas ist ansprechender, jedoch ist da der Fußmarsch zum westlichen nötig, wenn man tauchen/einkaufen möchte. Auf dem Rückweg zwischen den Feldern kommen uns 2 Mädels mit Backpacks entgegen. Müssen wohl gerade eben aus den Colectivo geschmissen worden sein. „You are almost there“ – nen wirklichen Transport/Taxi gibts hier echt nicht, da ist 1km Marsch mit Backpacks nicht prickelnd. Kurz vor der Dorfgrenze sehen wir einen Mann, der in unserer Richtung unterwegs ist und einen großen Sack schleppt. „Esst ihr Reis zum Frühstück?“ scherzt er, der Sack wäre für ihn dadurch leichter geworden

Panama Santa Catalina Surfer Camp Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama Santa Catalina Surfer Camp Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama Santa Catalina Surfer Camp Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama Santa Catalina Road Backpacking Backpacker Travel

Route Panama Santa Catalina Boquete Backpacking Backpacker Travel

Wir stellen unsere Backpacks vor die Tür und warten darauf, dass sich das Shuttle bemerkbar macht. Bei der Hitze warten wir lieber im Kühlen. Auf der Interamericana Kreuzung zur Guabalá, sollte man nach der Puesto de Control Integral de Guabalá Richtung Meer schauen. Die schöne Aussicht auf Mangroveninseln (Isla Porcada) lohnt sich. David wird umfahren, jedoch sehe ich einige Villen in den Vorstädten, welche Hochsicherheitstrakten gleichen – Stacheldraht, Alarmanlagen und Kameras? Ist das echt hier nötig? Nach einigen Kilometern sehen wir schon Berge in der Ferne zwischen den Wolken. Boquete ist nicht mehr weit.

Boquete –

Panama Boquete Mountains Backpacking Backpacker TravelUnsere Unterkunft ist „Sueño del Rio“, zwar in einer nicht verzeichneten Strasse in der Navigation-App, aber – auch dem Namen nach – direkt am Fluss. Mit ein wenig Fragen auch schnell gefunden. Itza, die Inhaberin, ist überfreundlich, gibt uns Infos satt (wie man die Umgebung auf eigene Faust erkundet) und kommt ein wenig wie wie eine Mama rüber, die sichergehen will, dass es den Kindern gut geht.

Wir laufen die Strasse vom Park in der Mitte des Dorfes zur Bank runter. Ich kenne das inzwischen schon – die DKB Visa ist zwar toll, da man meistens keine extra Gebühren beim Abheben zahlen muss, aber dafür funzt sie oft bei gewissen Banken in Lateinamerika nicht. Brrrrrtttt. Beepbeepbeep. Ein gutes Geräusch. Essen fassen nach der langen Fahrt. Fleisch satt gibts bei „La posada boquetenia“, welches uns von Itza auch empfohlen wurde. Urlecker.

Danach gehts ab ins Bett. Ich schlafe wie ein Stein – man hört eine Art“white noise“.. der Fluss, der Wind, das Rascheln der Blätter..

Leave a Reply

Erst Meer, dann Berge

von Mario Lesedauer: 2 min
0
Teilen
Twittern
+1
Teilen
Pin
Stumble

First to the Sea, then to the Mountains

Santa Catalina –

We got 2 suggestions for places to visit in our further travels yesterday, but we – as we have decided our next destination to be Boquete – are not taking this into account: Santa Fe should be is quite similar to El Valle, but not quite near to the Panamericana – if we had more time, it would be worth a visit. The Lost and Found Ecolodge  near Boquete also makes an interesting impression.

The shuttle for the transfer should arrive between 12:00 to 13:00, so have some time to visit the beach at the eastern part of Santa Catalina and have breakfast there. Just as we pass the last house of the “divers village” the road we are walking on is surrounded just by fields. Despite early morning hours, it is pretty warm already. At some point, we see some surfer lodges, and arrive shortly after at the beach. A small creek crosses the path, so we have some refreshment for our feet before we arrive at the Surf Oasis on the opposite side. I like the vibe there – and also hear exceptionally more English than German around me. There aren’t probably so many German surfers here. We have leisurely breakfast. I think the eastern part of Santa Catalina is really appealing, but the walk to the west is necessary if you want to dive or go shopping. On our way back along the road be see 2 girls coming our way carrying backpacks. Must probably just arrived by the colectivo. “You are almost there” – there isn’t any transport / taxi available here, so a 1km march with backpacks during this heat cannot get you overly excited. Just before the village limit we see a man who is going in our direction and carrying a big sack on his shoulders. “Do you guys eat rice for breakfast?” he’s joking, the bag would have become much lighter for him

Panama Santa Catalina Surfer Camp Backpacking Backpacker TravelPanama Santa Catalina Surfer Camp Backpacking Backpacker TravelPanama Santa Catalina Surfer Camp Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama Santa Catalina Road Backpacking Backpacker Travel

Route Panama Santa Catalina Boquete Backpacking Backpacker TravelWe put our backpacks at the door and wait for the shuttle. With the heat we prefer to wait in our cooler hotel room till it arrives. While in the minivan to Boquete there is some beautiful landscapes to be seen. On the Interamericana crossing to Guabalá, you should have a look towards the sea right after the Puesto de Control Integral de Guabalá. The beautiful view on the mangrove islands (Isla Porcada) sure is worthwhile. We drive past David, but I see some villas in the suburbs, with high security installations – barbed wire, security alarms and cameras? Is this really necessary here? After a few kilometers we can already see mountains in the distance between the clouds. Boquete is not far off.

Boquete –

Panama Boquete Mountains Backpacking Backpacker TravelOur accommodation is called “Sueño del Rio”, although in an uncharted road in the navigation app, if should be – according to the name – right at the river. With a little asking around we are quickly able to find it. Itza, the owner, is very friendly and gives us gladly tons of information to Boquete (how to explore the surroundings on our own) and kinda is like a mum who wants to make sure the kids are alright.

We follow the road to the park in the center of the village and then head to the nearest bank. By now, I know that the DKB Visa is indeed great, as you usually do not have to pay any extra charges when withdrawing, but the downside is, that often banks in Latin America won’t accept it. Brrrrrtttt. Beepbeepbeep. A good sound. Off for dinner after the long drive. There is tons of meat on the menu at “La posada boquetenia”, which was also recommended by Itza. Yummy!
When arriving at the hotel I fall asleep very easily – you can hear some kind of “white noise” here which relaxes you extremely… the river, the wind, the rustling of leaves.

Leave a Reply

First to the Sea, then to the Mountains

by Mario time to read: 3 min
0