Isla Zapatilla

Bocas del Toro –

Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Zapatilla Snorkeling Backpacking Backpacker TravelWie es aussieht, haben wir leider keine Möglichkeit zu segeln… Es gab einige Mails zurück, aber nichts positives. Vielleicht haben wir das auch zu spontan entschieden. Nach nem grossen Frühstück laufen wir die Hauptstraße entlang und entscheiden uns für eine Tour nach Zapatilla mit Waterboa… Deepboarding. Zunächst fahren wir auf ne andere Insel, östlich von Bastimentos und holen noch ne 4er Gruppe von einem Hotel ab. Ganz cool, so ausserhalb zu wohnen, aber dann ist es auch schwer, für jede Unternehmung nen Wassertaxi zu brauchen.

Explore a little further and find the real Panama.
Dogs, chickens, children run wild.
Litter and poverty remind you
this is still the third world.
Caribbean soul lives on Isla Bastimentos.
I guess Old Bank is Bocas without all the gringos.
Girl get braids, women manicures.
They speak island lingo with English words.
Watch yourself when walking
on the Basti jungle paths
lest you be robbed in the wild
by men with machetes and masks.
Surfers get to play
at Wizard or Red Frog beach.
Keep following the coastline
for one of the most gorgeous beaches you’ll see.
A stunning boat journey
through the national marine park.
Arrive in deserted island paradise
with millions of stars after dark.Camille Willemain
Sloth Island

Wir sind ca 16+ Leute aufm Boot, nen bissel eng isses schon. Naja, hoffe mal, es wird nicht ganz so ne Touri-Tour. Wiedermal überwiegt Deutsch als gesprochene Sprache – D/A/CH ist halt in Panama sehr präsent. Wir fahren durch kleine Mangroveninseln und gelangen zu einer größeren: „Sloth Island“. Welche wie der Name schon sagt, von Faultieren nur so wimmelt. Man braucht jedoch ein gutes Auge, um sie in den Bäumen zu entdecken, da sie sich kaum durch Bewegung bemerkbar machen. Der Kapitän fährt das Boot in kleine Einbuchtungen der Insel hinein, um uns tiefer in die Mangroven hineinblicken zu lassen. 3 Stück bekommen wir zu Gesicht – der letzte Sloth ist zwar kaum 3m entfernt, dreht uns aber den Rücken zu und scheint trotz Zurufe der Leute keinen Bock zu haben, sich umzudrehen (das nächste Tourenboot hinter uns nähert sich schon) – Ich glaub, die Prozedur kennt das Fellknäuel schon – „Zero fucks were given that day“. Doch einer unserer Österreicher braucht anscheinend unbedingt eine Faultiernahaufnahme für seinen Nachttisch am Bett … springt also über den Bug auf die Mangrovenwurzeln, läuft auf die uns abgewandte Seite des Baumes und fuchtelt rum, um die Aufmerksamkeit des Faultiers zu bekommen. Echt jetzt?

Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Zapatilla Rocks Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Zapatilla Palmtrees Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Carenero Bibi On The Beach Backpacking Backpacker Travel
ArrowArrow
ArrowArrow
Slider

Zum Glück haben unsere Bootsführer ein wenig mehr gesunden Menschenverstand bei solchen Dingen. Von der typischen Blitzlichtgewitter-Motorboot-Hetzjagdt bleiben die Delphine in der Dolphinbay verschont. Recht gemächlich lässt der Mann am Steuer das Boot einmal Kreisen und fährt langsam Richtung Zapatilla – Die Storys über Delphingruppen, welche zur Touribelustigung von solchen Booten umkreist werden und dann noch in die Schiffsschrauben geraten will ich nicht live miterleben.

Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Zapatilla Beach Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Zapatilla Beach Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Zapatilla Palmtrees Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Isla Zapatilla

Vor Zapatilla machen wir noch kurz Halt um zu Schnorcheln. Ein sehr schönes und sauberes Riff gibt es hier. Sehr sehr cool. Generell ist Zapatilla eine am weitesten von Bocas Town entfernte Insel und darüber hinaus ist das innere der Insel noch Naturschutzgebiet .

Nach dem Schnorcheln werden wir zur Insel gefahren und machen ne kurze Pause, während sich die ersten 4 Leute schon für das Deepboarding bereitmachen. Ich packe meine Kamera aus, wechsle die SD-Karte und mache paar Aufnahmen. Inzwischen ist unsere Gruppe mit dem Deepboard dran. Ein sehr cooles Erlebnis. Da man mit einer recht hohen Geschwindigkeit gezogen wird, kommt es einem vor, als ob man ewig unter Wasser bleiben kann. Riff und Meeresbewohner ziehen links und rechts an einem vorbei, während man sich ziehen lässt und nur zum Luftholen nach oben steuert. Wow.

Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Carenero Beach Backpacking Backpacker TravelNach der Fahrt merke ich, dass Wasser in das Gehäuse der mitgenommenen Gopro gelangt ist. Fuckfuckfuck – ich hatte nur das Dome-Gehäuse mitgenommen, weil das fürs Schnorcheln bessere Bilder liefert, aber der Druck der sich bei der Geschwindigkeit aufbaut, ist wohl zu groß. Gehäuse öffnen, Akku & SD-Karte raus, Öffnungen offenlassen und im Schatten trocknen lassen also. Die Akkukontakte sehen krass korrodiert aus (Salzwasser halt), aber viel scheint nicht hineingekommen zu sein zum Glück… Erstmal was essen und dann schau ich mal weiter. Nach einer Tupperdose Spaghetti Bolognese kratze ich die Korrosion mit einem Coladosenverschlussring ab und stecke den Ersatzakku rein. Die Deepboardaufnahme ist zwar futsch, aber die Cam hats überlebt. Glück im Unglück, und die Erkenntnis, dass das 30m-Goprogehäuse für mehr als Schnorcheln nichts taugt (ich hätte wohl echt das 60m Tauchgehäuse mitnehmen sollen).

Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Carenero Bibi on the Beach Night Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Zapatilla Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Carenero Bibi On The Beach Backpacking Backpacker Travel

Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Carenero Beach Night Backpacking Backpacker Travel

Mit vollen Magen laufen wir durch den Naturschutzpark der Insel. Der ausgetretene Weg wandelt sich irgendwann zu einem Steg. Man kann erkennen, dass das Wasser manchmal hier bis zum Inselinnere gelangt, wenn man sich die übriggebliebenen Teiche anschaut. Abgesehen von der einen Hütte und dem Steg ist alles naturbelassen. Bei unserem Weg von der Ostspitze über das Nordende zum Südende und zurück hören wir duzende Kokosnüsse fallen. Gerade der letzte, zugewachsene Abschnitt ist Palmenüberwuchert. Death by coconut? More common than you think here

Zurück auf Bocas gibts nach ner Siesta, Abendessen auf Carenero. Bei „Bibi’s on the beach“ bestelle ich mir ein creole chicken und Ena nen ganzen snapper bevor der Tag für uns endet.

7 Comments

  1. Mario
  2. Mario
    • Mario
  3. Mario
  4. Mario

Leave a Reply

Isla Zapatilla

von Mario Lesedauer: 4 min
7
Teilen
Twittern
+1
Teilen
Pin
Stumble

Isla Zapatilla

Bocas del Toro –

Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Zapatilla Snorkeling Backpacking Backpacker TravelUnfortunately, we cannot go sailing today… We got some emails back, though with no positive reply. Perhaps we were too spontaneously. After an amazing big breakfast we walk along the main street and opt for a tour to Zapatilla with Waterboa… Deepboarding. We have to drive to another island (East of Bastimentos) first and pick up a group of 4 at a hotel. Quite cool, to have your stay this far from town, but you will also probably have to rely on water taxis for everything you are planning to do during the day.

Explore a little further and find the real Panama.
Dogs, chickens, children run wild.
Litter and poverty remind you
this is still the third world.
Caribbean soul lives on Isla Bastimentos.
I guess Old Bank is Bocas without all the gringos.
Girl get braids, women manicures.
They speak island lingo with English words.
Watch yourself when walking
on the Basti jungle paths
lest you be robbed in the wild
by men with machetes and masks.
Surfers get to play
at Wizard or Red Frog beach.
Keep following the coastline
for one of the most gorgeous beaches you’ll see.
A stunning boat journey
through the national marine park.
Arrive in deserted island paradise
with millions of stars after dark.Camille Willemain
Sloth Island

We are about 16+ people on the boat, so it gets quite a little cozy. Well, let’s hope this doesn’t end in one of those typical tourist tours. Once again the main spoken language is German – DE/AT/CH have a strong presence in Panama. We drive through small mangrove islands and reach a larger “Sloth Island”. As the name suggests, there are lots of them. However, you need a good eye to discover them in the trees because they hardly move to be noticeable. The captain moves the boat into little bays of the island, so we can look deeper into the mangroves. We get to see 3 sloths – the last one is only about 3m from the bow, but has his back turned towards us and doesn’t seem to have any reason to turn around (the next tour boat is already approaching behind us) despite all the shouting of the folks in the boat – I guess this little furball already knows the whole procedure – “Zero fucks were given that day”. But one of the Austrians is apparently in desperate need of a framed sloth photo for his nightstand … So, he jumps from the bow on the mangrove roots, runs to the other side of the tree and starts waving and shouting to get the sloths attention. For real?

Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Zapatilla Rocks Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Zapatilla Palmtrees Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Carenero Bibi On The Beach Backpacking Backpacker Travel
ArrowArrow
ArrowArrow
Slider

Luckily, our boatmen have a little more common sense when it comes to those things. The dolphins in Dolphinbay are spared from the typical motorboat photoflash-hunt. The man at the wheel leisurely runs some circles and slowly moves towards Zapatilla – I heard some stories about dolphin groups, which were circled for tourist amusement by such boats and then got into the propellers. Don’t want this live experience.

Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Zapatilla Beach Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Zapatilla Beach Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Zapatilla Palmtrees Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Isla Zapatilla

We have a brief stop for a snorkeling break just before Zapatilla. Here you can find a very clean and healthy reef. Very very cool. Zapatilla is the farthest Island from Bocas Town and the interior of the island is also a nature reserve .

After snorkeling we are brought to the island and have a brief pause while the first 4 people are getting ready for the Deepboarding. I grab my camera, switch the SD card and take some shots. Eventually, it is the turn of our group for Deepboarding. A very cool experience. Since you get pulled at a fairly high speed, it seems like you can stay for a long period underwater. Reef and sea creatures pass by on your left and right side and you just have to conrol your board to get to the surface for some air. Wow.

Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Carenero Beach Backpacking Backpacker TravelAfter the trip, I realize that water is leaking into the case of my GoPro. Fuckfuckfuck – I had only taken the dome housing with me, since you can take more interesting pictures while snorkeling with it, but the pressure which builds up during Deepboarding is probably too large for it. I open the casing, get the battery & SD card out, leave the ports open and leave everything to dry in the shade. The battery contacts look quite corroded from (salt water and electronics are a bad combination), but it seems just few drops of water have gotten into the actual GoPro. Maybe I’m in luck… First, lets get something to eat and then we’ll see. After having some spaghetti bolognese right off Tupperware, I try to get the corrosion off the contacts with a Cola can closure ring and insert the spare battery afterwards. The Deep board recording seems corrupted, but the Cam and the other recorded Items on the SD card survived everything. Blessing in disguise indeed, and I got the understanding that the 30m-GoPro housing is just for snorkeling (I probably should have brought the 60m diving housing along instead).

Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Carenero Bibi on the Beach Night Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Zapatilla Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Carenero Bibi On The Beach Backpacking Backpacker Travel

Panama Bocas Del Toro Isla Carenero Beach Night Backpacking Backpacker TravelAfter lunch we have a walk through the nature reserve on the island. The trail eventually transforms into a wooden bridge on stilts. From time to time you can see huge puddles of water, which are the remains of floodings. Apart from a hut and the bridge on stilts everything is kept natural. On our way from the eastern point past the north end and then to the southern point and back we can hear dozens of coconuts falling down. Especially the last section is totally overgrown by palm trees. Death by coconut? More common than you think here .

After having a siesta back in Bocas, we head to “Bibi’s on the beach” on Carenero for dinner.

7 Comments

  1. Mario
  2. Mario
  3. Mario
    • Mario
  4. Mario
  5. Mario

Leave a Reply

Isla Zapatilla

by Mario time to read: 4 min
7
Share
Tweet
+1
Share
Pin
Stumble