Sendero de los Quezales

Boquete –

Panama Boquete River Orchid Festival Sunrise Backpacking Backpacker TravelItza hatte uns gestern schon einige Aktivitäten in Boquete empfohlen, und Rafting klang sehr interessant. Ein Anruf von ihr, und wir haben für morgen 2 Plätze im Schlauchboot gebucht – nur früh aufstehen müssen wir.

Wir entscheiden uns heute, am „Sendero de los Quezales“ die „3 hidden Waterfalls“ Route (Cascadas escondidas) zu wandern. Wir wollen zunächst den Colectivo nehmen, sehen aber dann die Quads bei „Boquete Mountain Safari“ – leider darf man die jedoch nur im Rahmen einer Tour ausleihen… wäre cool gewesen. Statt dem Colectivo, nehmen wir einfach ein Taxi. Für 8 PAB (8.00 USD) ist das auch ok.

Sendero de los Quezales

An der Kreuzung zum Sendero de los Quezales nehmen wir 2 Mädels mit, welche auch zu den Wasserfällen wollten, aber sich verlaufen haben (linken Weg genommen) und wieder nach Boquete wollen. Wir fahren rechts weiter und steigen auf einer Anhöhe mit einer Hütte aus. Der Weg ist zwar holprig, aber die Aussicht super. Nach 2km kommen wir an einer Gabelung an und befürchten, dass wir den Sendero de los Quezales gelaufen sind – also auch einen falschen Weg für die Wasserfälle genommen haben. Der Weg ist zwar schön, aber durch die Erwartungshaltung, Wasserfälle zu sehen und vielleicht dort auch schwimmen gehen zu können, sind wir doch bissel enttäuscht.

Panama Boquete Quezal Graffiti Backpacker Backpacking Travel Panama Boquete Hiking Sendero de los Quezales Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama Boquete Hiking Sendero de los Quezales Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama Boquete Hiking Sendero de los Quezales Backpacking Backpacker Travel

Panama Boquete Mountain River Sunrise Backpacking Backpacker Travel

Das ist leider öfters so in Panama – hat man keine vernünftige Karte, sehen Aktionen auf eigene Faust nicht immer gut aus – dank fehlender Beschilderung (wir hätten geradeaus laufen sollen, am Ort wo wir die Mädels aufgesammelt hatten). Irgendwann kommt uns eine Wandergruppe entgegen, die unsere Vermutung bestätigt. Dumm gelaufen . Wir entscheiden uns einfach wieder zurückzulaufen, da wir nichtmal mehr Zeit mehr haben, den ersten Wasserfall zu sehen und vor Sonnenuntergang wieder am Weganfang zu sein. Wir nehmen den Colectivo zurück nach Boquete und entscheiden uns stattdessen die „El explorador gardens“ anzuschauen. Laut Plan, ist das nur ein 40min Weg über die Brücke. Wir kommen an der „Expo Orchideas“ vorbei, und die Motivation schwindet. Statt einen Wanderweg zu laufen, müssen wir die Strasse lang. Nee – bei Hitze ne Strasse lang laufen is nicht. Wir winken ein Taxi herbei, welches uns trotz 2 anderer Gäste mitnimmt. Ihr Zuhause liegt eh auf dem Weg zu den El explorador gardens. Wir kommen dort an und sehen, dass diese leider geschlossen sind. Heute haben wir auch echt kein Glück .

Expo Orchideas

Wir schauen uns stattdessen die Orchideen Expo an, ruhen uns ein wenig zwischen den Blumenbeeten aus und gehen danach im „Retrogusto“ essen. Ich hatte lange keine Pizza mehr. Die Pizza Diavola mit Mozarella würze ich ein wenig mit hausgemachter Sauce nach. Sehr gut .

One Response

  1. Mario

Leave a Reply

Sendero de los Quezales

von Mario Lesedauer: 2 min
1
Teilen
Twittern
+1
Teilen
Pin
Stumble

Sendero de los Quezales

Boquete –

Panama Boquete River Orchid Festival Sunrise Backpacking Backpacker TravelYesterday, Itza had recommended us some activities in Boquete, and rafting sounded very interesting. A call from her, and the booking is complete for tomorrow – all we have to do is getting up early.

For Today, we decide to hike the “3 Hidden Waterfalls” route (Cascadas escondidas) at the “Sendero de los Quezales”. First we are thinking about taking the colectivo, but the quads at “Boquete Mountain Safari” catch our eye – unfortunately you cannot rent them separately from a guided tour… As the colectivo takes his time arriving, we decide to just take a taxi. For 8 PAB (8.00 USD) that’s alright.

Sendero de los Quezales

At the junction for the Sendero de los Quezales we let 2 girls join us who also wanted to go to the waterfalls, but got lost since they had taken the wrong path (left one) and want to return to Boquete. We turn right and get off at a hut next to a hill. The road is indeed very bumpy, but you get rewarded with some amazing views. After 2km we arrive at a fork and are afraid of having taken the road to the ongoing Sendero de los Quezales – and have therefore also taken a wrong path for the waterfalls. The path is quite nice but by having the expectation to get to the waterfalls and maybe also being able to take a swim there, we get a little disappointed.

Panama Boquete Quezal Graffiti Backpacker Backpacking Travel Panama Boquete Hiking Sendero de los Quezales Backpacking Backpacker Travel
Panama Boquete Hiking Sendero de los Quezales Backpacking Backpacker Travel Panama Boquete Hiking Sendero de los Quezales Backpacking Backpacker Travel

Panama Boquete Mountain River Sunrise Backpacking Backpacker TravelUnfortunately, this can happen often in Panama – without having a precise map, going on activities on your own may end this way – also thanks to lack of signage (we should have gotten off the taxi gone straight at the junction where we picked up the girls). After a while we see another hiking group that which confirms our assumption. Bad luck . We decide return slowly, since we won’t be even able to get to the first waterfall and to be on the start of the road before sunset. We take the colectivo back to Boquete and decide to visit the “El explorador gardens” instead. According to our information this should only be a 40min walk across the bridge. We walk past the “Expo Orchideas”, and your motivation starts to fade away. Instead a trail, we have to walk along a long asphalt road – Nope, this doesnt feel right, specially in this heat. A taxi driver is going our way and is willing to drive us despite having 2 other passangers. As we arrive there, we have to realize that they are unfortunately closed. We really have some bad luck today .

Expo Orchideas

As an alternative we go visit the Orchid Expo instead, rest for a while between the flowerbeds and go for dinner to “Retrogusto” afterwards. I haven’t eaten any Pizza for some time. I season my ordered mozarella-covered Pizza Diavola with some great homemade sauce. Delicious .

One Response

  1. Mario

Leave a Reply

Sendero de los Quezales

by Mario time to read: 2 min
1
Share
Tweet
+1
Share
Pin
Stumble