Von Mexiko nach Belize

Tulum – 

Mexico Tulum Graffiti Backpacking Backpacker TravelWir nehmen frühmorgens den Bus  nach Chetumal… wo die Stadtstrassen extreme Schlaglöcher haben, sind die Route Nationales sehr gepflegt. Und kerzengerade! Ich frage mich, wie der Busfahrer beim geradeausfahren nicht einschläft.

Meine Bedenken über schlechtes Wetter sind erstmal verflogen. Freue mich auf Caye Caulker .

Chetumal – 

Mexico Chetumal Rain Flooded Streets Backpacker Backpacking TravelAlles überschwemmt. Hier hats mal extrem geregnet. Schnell die Tickets abgeholt am Hafen und gehen was essen. Sehr günstig, aber auch sehr gut. Chimichanga mit fast nur Huhn, dünne Tortilla und viel Käse. Lecker. Gepäck ist in Boot verladen, wir machen noch die Immigration Papiere fertig. Wie wir bereits wussten, kommen 4 Militärpolizisten mit nem Drogenspürhund. Handgepäck wird gechecked.. dann werden wieder paar Gepäckstücke aufgeladen. Ich verstehe nicht, warum mit dem Verladen nicht auf die Polizei gewartet wird. Polizist und Hund springen aufs Boot und Bello soll in die Gepäcklucke springen. Der recht junge Hund hat genug damit zu tun, sich auf dem glatten Bootsdach zu halten. In nen Loch reinspringen is also nich, auch mit gutem Zureden . Der Polizist gibt auf und wir können erstmal nach San Pedro.

San Pedro – 

Madonnas Insel  sieht ganz ok aus, aber Caye Caulker soll schöner sein. Nach der Immigration gehts nach Caye Caulker weiter. Auf der Fahrt zu Caye Caulker lernen wir Kate, eine Britin und Ben, einen Kanadier kennen. Belizes Geld sieht wie britische Pfund aus.. nur dass die Queen etwas anders aussieht. Braungebrannter. Und jünger. Sind in der Karibik, so muss das, auch für unsere Majestät .

Mexico Chetumal Belize Caye Caulker San Pedro Immigration Backpacker Backpacking TravelBelize Caye Caulker San Pedro Immigration Backpacker Backpacking TravelBelize Caye Caulker San Pedro Immigration Backpacker Backpacking Travel 2

 Caye Caulker – 

Route Mexico Tulum Belize Caye Caulker Backpacker Backpacking TravelEs wird sehr schnell dunkel hier. Irgendwie ist jeder recht relaxed hier – „go slow“ eben. Das Motto der Insel. Ein paar Jungs spielen Streetball am Hafen. Die sich am schnellsten bewegenden Leute der Insel? Wir teilen uns ein Golfcart-Taxi und fahren mit Kate zu „Pause Accomondation“. Ben fährt weiter. Beide verabreden sich für morgen, dachte mir schon im Boot, dass sie ihn irgendwie mag

Cooles Bungalow, und Location. 2 Meter vom Häuschen beginnt das Meer. Mit Palmen und Mangroven. Die Toilette ist auf der anderen Seite des Hofes, es raschelt in den Mangroven – Krabben. Holen Kate ab und gehen was essen. Man wird fürs essen oft angeredet. „Belizian Flava“ – 25 BZD (12.51 USD) Menu mit nem Hummer, Beilagen und 2 Drinks. Cool. Irgendwann kommt der Kanadier an dem Restaurant vorbei. Die Insel ist klein. Essen zu 4t. Ich mag lieber Pork Ribs. Wieder bei Pause regnet es in Strömen. Schlafe wie ein Stein. Mückenspray scheint die Mücken hier nicht zu stören..

Leave a Reply

Von Mexiko nach Belize

von Mario Lesedauer: 2 min
0

From Mexico to Belize

Tulum – 

Mexico Tulum Graffiti Backpacking Backpacker Travel

We take the morning bus to Chetumal … while the city streets have extreme potholes the Route Nationales are well maintained. And going totally straight! I wonder how the bus driver does not fall asleep while driving down this monotone road.

My concerns about bad weather are gone now. Looking forward to Caye Caulker .

Chetumal – 

Mexico Chetumal Rain Flooded Streets Backpacker Backpacking TravelEverything flooded. Here, it has rained extremely. We buy the watertaxi-tickets at the port and go to get something to eat. Very cheap, but also very good: Chimichangas with almost only chicken, thin tortilla and lots of cheese. Delicious. The luggage is loaded into the boat while we ready our immigration papers. As we already knew, 4 military police guys arrive with a drug sniffing dog to check the luggage. The hand luggage is being checked… then few pieces of luggage get unloaded again to be checked. I do not understand why they do not wait with the loading till everything is checked by the police in advance. One of the Policemen and the dog jump on the boat and Fido has to jump into the luggage hatch. The pretty young dog has already enough trouble to keep himself from slipping from the smooth boat surface. So he is like “No way i am jumping though such a narrow hole”. After a while the policeman gives up and next we are on our way to San Pedro .

San Pedro – 

Madonna’s island looks quite nice, yet Caye Caulker is supposed to be way more beautiful. After passing through immigration we head on to Caye Caulker. On the ride to Caye Caulker we get to know Kate, a British girl and Ben, a Canadian. Belize’s money looks alot like the british pound… yet, the queen printed on it looks a little different. Kinda tanned and much younger. Here in the caribbean, this is a must, even for your majesty .

Mexico Chetumal Belize Caye Caulker San Pedro Immigration Backpacker Backpacking Travel Belize Caye Caulker San Pedro Immigration Backpacker Backpacking Travel Belize Caye Caulker San Pedro Immigration Backpacker Backpacking Travel 2

Caye Caulker – 

Route Mexico Tulum Belize Caye Caulker Backpacker Backpacking TravelIt gets dark quickly. Somehow everyone is pretty relaxed here – “go slow”, this is the motto of the island. A few boys are playing street ball at the harbor. The fastest moving people on the island? We share a golf cart taxi and head with Kate to “Pause Accomondation”. Ben continues to his Hotel. Both agree to meet tomorrow, i kinda had the feeling during the boatride that she was kinda into him anyways .

Cool Bungalow, and Location. The shore is just about 2 meters from the house which is surrounded by palm trees and mangroves. The toilet is on the other side of the yard, and there’s a rustling in the mangroves – crabs. We ask Kate to accompany us to dinner. Our choice is “Belizian Flava” – A 25 BZD (12.51 USD) menu with lobster, side dishes and 2 drinks. Cool. Eventually, we see Ben near the restaurant. The island seems small. So food for 4 it is. I prefer pork ribs over lobster though. Again at Pause it starts pouring rain. Yet, i fall asleep like a rock. By the way: Mosquitoes don’t seem to care at all about some puny bug spray here…

One Response

  1. Mario

Leave a Reply

From Mexico to Belize

by Mario time to read: 2 min
1